Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 22, 2012, 07:21 AM
OmegaRED's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa , Canada
Posts: 101

My System Specs

Default What's the best way to ship video cards to the USA?

I'm gonna be selling my video cards to someone in America, what's the cheapest and most reliable method of shipping them to the USA? I would get them insured with tracking, do I need to worry about duty fees with some shipping companies?
__________________
E-Penis Specs:
Coolermaster Cosmos II \\ Intel i5 2500K@4.8ghz \\ Gigabyte PA67 UD7\\ MSI Twin Frozr GTX 680 SLI \\Corsair Vengeance 8GB LP \\ Seasonic Platinum 1000W \\ X-Fi Titanium HD \\ OCZ Vertez 3 120GB \\ RAID 0 Seagate Barracuda 1TB SATA6G 64MB \\ Samsung 27" 3D LED Monitor \\ Logitech G5 \\ Logitech G-15 Keyboard \\ Logitech Z-5500 \\ Sennheiser 595 \\ Windows 7 x64
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 22, 2012, 08:41 AM
Phill's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Morden MB
Posts: 598

My System Specs

Default

I have never had an issue with Canada Post.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 22, 2012, 08:48 AM
Bungwirez's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 453

My System Specs

Default

Yep. CP wins.

for kicks, I label my hardware as "literature"
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 22, 2012, 08:56 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: laval Qc
Posts: 1,072
Default

ship by canadapost expidited with tracking and insurance n signature

with venture 1 it will be there in 5 days

and cheaper than ups
__________________
maximus IV extreme @ 5.1 1.41v

evga e760 +920 4.8 water5.0+ on phase linx stable
gtx285 tri-sli
dfi ut-p35 lt
e8600@4.6 1.38v
too much ram
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 22, 2012, 09:07 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,780

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bungwirez View Post
Yep. CP wins.

for kicks, I label my hardware as "literature"
That doesn't work if it's shipped from BC... border guards figure that's a keyword for smoking pot..... ;)
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 22, 2012, 12:10 PM
Delavan's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mtl
Posts: 1,153
Default

I heard somewhere that if you tag the parcel as a "gift", you don't get charged duty???
Dunno about the truth in this.... or putting a value of $0...
__________________
i7 4770K @ 4.5GHz / Corsair H100i / Maximus VI HERO / 8GB Corsair Vengeance Red LP 1.5V 1866 / EVGA GTX780 ACX / Corsair Performance Pro 128GB SSD / Intel 520 120GB SSD / WD Black 640 GB storage

ROG G53SX laptop: i7 2630QM / 12GB DDR3 / GTX560m 2GB / 750GB 7200rpm (14 000 3Dmarks06)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 22, 2012, 05:19 PM
OmegaRED's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa , Canada
Posts: 101

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zsamz_ View Post
ship by canadapost expidited with tracking and insurance n signature

with venture 1 it will be there in 5 days

and cheaper than ups
Will there be duty if I put insurance of $500?
__________________
E-Penis Specs:
Coolermaster Cosmos II \\ Intel i5 2500K@4.8ghz \\ Gigabyte PA67 UD7\\ MSI Twin Frozr GTX 680 SLI \\Corsair Vengeance 8GB LP \\ Seasonic Platinum 1000W \\ X-Fi Titanium HD \\ OCZ Vertez 3 120GB \\ RAID 0 Seagate Barracuda 1TB SATA6G 64MB \\ Samsung 27" 3D LED Monitor \\ Logitech G5 \\ Logitech G-15 Keyboard \\ Logitech Z-5500 \\ Sennheiser 595 \\ Windows 7 x64
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 22, 2012, 05:23 PM
chel-'s Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 24
Default

I've shipped items valued above $300 to the US and there wasn't any duty (mind you I haven't a clue how any of these sorts of things work). Also I agree that Canada Post is the way to go. I have yet to be disappointed with them.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 22, 2012, 05:31 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: laval Qc
Posts: 1,072
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OmegaRED View Post
Will there be duty if I put insurance of $500?

i shipped a few 980x cpus last year insured for 900 each and no duty
even shipped by ups n they never had to pay duty
if you need to cover your ass get signature required

its only us that pay duty
__________________
maximus IV extreme @ 5.1 1.41v

evga e760 +920 4.8 water5.0+ on phase linx stable
gtx285 tri-sli
dfi ut-p35 lt
e8600@4.6 1.38v
too much ram
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FS] 580 GTX 3GB video cards gerardfraser Buy/Sell & Trade 10 March 14, 2012 06:24 PM
[WTB] Looking for some video cards micul Buy/Sell & Trade 1 February 5, 2011 06:13 PM
Asus ARES Video Cards - CrossFire [Video] AmuseMe Reviews & Articles from the Web 5 July 1, 2010 08:34 AM
value of my video cards? technix Video Cards 5 February 26, 2010 05:45 PM
Video Cards trayton Video Cards 3 May 12, 2009 10:15 PM