Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 20, 2012, 07:56 PM
muse108dc's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Vancouver North
Posts: 1,670
Default Third monitor

I currently have 1 4890 card in my rig. But I finally got around to fixing my main 2nd monitor, I have 2 secondary monitors, 1 17 which I replaced with a 20 inch NEC, NEC blew a cap so while I fixed that I used the 17 again. Thing is. I now like the idea of three monitors over just the 2 I had been using. Should also say my main main monitor is a 22 inch.

So since my card only has 2 DVI ports I cant use my third (which happens to be VGA anyway), I was wondering what my options are and which of the following scenarios make any sense at all.

1) buy a cheap rubbish AMD card just to use a slave for its ports.

2) Buy the new top of the line AMD card and do some sort of frankinstien hybrid crossfire

3) Buy the new top of the line nVidia card and do some sort of freakish frankinstiend hybrid crossfire sli (I have a theory this would destroy the universe if tried)

4) Buy the new top of the line nVidia card and use the 4890 as a slave for its ports.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 20, 2012, 09:50 PM
Silent_Avenger's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Toronto
Posts: 472

My System Specs

Default

1) Yes if you're on a budget this should work.

2) Yes you get a great performing card and you're fairly future proofed but don't xfire it with your 4890 since it won't work(or at least shouldn't). Even if you got it to work it's not worth it.

3) Again it's not worth it to combine it with your 4890 and also not possible unless you have a certain type of motherboard. Also no you won't destroy the universe by running Crossli/SliFire since the MSI Big Bang Fuzion motherboard allows you to do it.

4)If by top of the line you mean a 680 then I believe those cards support up to 4 monitors(3 in surround) on one card like AMD's Eyefinity.

My opinion I would probably say spring for a GTX 680 that way you're future proofed and you're able to run 3 montiors not saying there's nothing wrong with keeping the 4890 but with the power it uses it's not worth keeping it with a new top of the line card.
__________________
Main System //// Dedicated Folding PC 1 //// Dedicated Folding PC 2 //// Laptop

Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/DarkDivinityPC

I fold for a cure. Team 213366 and 54196.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 21, 2012, 03:07 PM
muse108dc's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Vancouver North
Posts: 1,670
Default

Thanks, I sadly hadnt really planned on upgraded the gpu until the fall so I may be forced just to try to find a cheap card to hold me over.

I had heard rumors about the sli/crossfire possibilities a few years ago, liquid something or other glad to see that that is actually happening now.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 21, 2012, 03:15 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 28
Default

craigslist a card and call it a day. then when you upgrade in the fall you will really notice the difference in noise and temps :)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gallery NEW MONITOR! :D vagnaar Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 1 October 13, 2010 09:34 PM
You have $209 to buy a monitor... castorjocky Display Units 18 February 26, 2010 08:35 PM
Looking for 2nd Monitor Signal2Noise Display Units 3 September 30, 2009 08:44 PM
[WTB] 22'' to 24'' LCD monitor Jacka Buy/Sell & Trade 1 January 27, 2009 04:46 PM