Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 19, 2012, 12:24 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 67

My System Specs

Default wattage needed for sli setup

Hi i have 1 gtx 560 ti 1gb and was thinking about selling it and getting a 2gb and later buying another to sli together. I was wondering how big i needed my psu to be. You can see what I have in system specs.

I was also debating a 570 2.5gb too, and if i wanted to sli those how much would i need wattage wise. ( if they can tri sli I would want to do that to so any input is nice, I would have to upgrade my psu because it only has 4x6 pins i think but if i was willing to spend 1000$ on video cards whats a psu lol)

more questions this is a terribly laid out thread but its late. I would want to get a 680 but I dont think my mother board has any pci-e 3.0's on it. Just tell me what you think. I dont want to get a new mother board and if this cant work i have tri sli support and enough slots.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 19, 2012, 01:20 AM
Bungwirez's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 453

My System Specs

Default

1000 bucks on GPU is best spent on GTX 680s my friend.

if your sys spec is correct, I do believe the TX850 will do the trick.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 19, 2012, 01:26 AM
GT7R's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Our universe
Posts: 991

My System Specs

Default

For 560s in SLI a quality 650W will do but I would prefer a 750W for the extra headroom (as for 570s, a 750W is a must).
About the 680 - you can run it just as well on a pci-e 2.0.
IMO - get a single 680 if you'll be able to find one.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 19, 2012, 01:28 AM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,557

My System Specs

Default

If you got money to blow, get 680's in SLI.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 19, 2012, 04:13 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,793

My System Specs

Default

I can answer this with a fair bit of confidence.... ;)

My current 1366 rig was pulling awfully close to 700W full load w/ 4.1G 920, and 2 560 ti cards. The 600W UPS I had it plugged into really didn't like it..... ;)
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 19, 2012, 03:24 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 67

My System Specs

Default

Ok so even if its a pcie 3 interface then it will still work just as good on a 2.0 slot?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 19, 2012, 04:02 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,607

My System Specs

Default

You're gaming at 1080p, the 2.5GB GTX 570s would be a waste of money, as no 1080p game uses that much video ram.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 19, 2012, 05:38 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 67

My System Specs

Default

future proofing dude i already max my card out playing skyrim with mods all 1gb and it stutters. I have experience with people who say these things. Forums: oh you wont need anything larger than a gb to play 1080p games but here i am playing skyrim with the vram maxed out. I might just go with keplers anyway if they can work on a pcie 2.0 slot.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How much wattage? baligena Power Supplies 16 May 12, 2011 08:11 PM
PSU WATTAGE !!!!!!.... plz respond >< mojosephwu Power Supplies 12 February 18, 2011 09:06 AM
What PSU wattage do I need? avrionis Power Supplies 8 December 30, 2010 06:33 AM
how much wattage? quikgp Power Supplies 9 June 1, 2009 09:20 AM
Finalized Setup (Critique Needed) Trevor New Builds 5 January 18, 2009 01:47 PM