Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 10, 2012, 08:56 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 5
Default which upgrade?

Hello,

I am looking to upgrade my video card as I currently have an 8800GT. I use my PC mostly for gaming and school work and would like to hear your suggestions on what to do.

My current setup:

CPU: Q6600
MoBo: GA-P35-DS3R
RAM: 4GB G.Skill (can't remember speed)
Power: 650W Thermaltake (can't remember the model)

I was thinking of getting an EVGA 680GTX SC but I am not sure if that is the best thing to do with my current setup. Should I be looking into upgrading the MoBo/CPU first? Will I be able to get good performance with only the video card upgrade?

I have an open budget but I would like to spend the least possible.

Thank you all
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 10, 2012, 09:01 AM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,627

My System Specs

Default

If you're gonna just upgrade your GPU, I'd recommend GTX 550Ti or GTX 560 at most. The GTX 680 is overkill no matter what resolution you run.

If you want to upgrade your rig overall, then refer to the sticky under New Builds. Obviously newer rig means higher performance, but it's also more costly so you gotta decide what you wanna do. I'm still sticking it out with my rig and honestly, it's fast enough. It's just that I have the upgrade itch that I need to hold back.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 10, 2012, 09:03 AM
dandelioneater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 1,114

My System Specs

Default

There are 2 possibleways to go
a) upgrade the whole system. Look at z68 or the upcoming Z77 stuff and get a new gfx card with it.
b) or upgrade your video card with a gtx 560Ti or 7850/70 and overclock your q6600 and get some more life out of it.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 10, 2012, 09:03 AM
Adzsask's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: SK
Posts: 831

My System Specs

Default

Grab a used GTX 460 on here for $100, as good as a 560Ti, and cheap.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 10, 2012, 09:16 AM
taimoorali007's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 182

My System Specs

Default

560-Ti not bad too :)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 10, 2012, 09:28 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by geokilla View Post
It's just that I have the upgrade itch that I need to hold back.
I guess that's the same for me, I'm trying to just upgrade the video card since I know my current system is enough for my needs.

I guess the consensus is to upgrade to a smaller video card which is probably what I will end up doing and do a complete system upgrade some time later.

Thank you all for your input
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 10, 2012, 05:54 PM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,961

My System Specs

Default

I echo everyone else. You will need a full system upgrade. Don't bother with the 680 on your 6600.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, HD 6950, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 10, 2012, 05:57 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 67

My System Specs

Default

yeah it will bottleneck
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 11, 2012, 08:37 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 5
Default

I have been looking at the 560 Ti, would that be ok or is that still too much for my current setup?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old April 11, 2012, 08:46 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,361

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by echodrome View Post
I have been looking at the 560 Ti, would that be ok or is that still too much for my current setup?
It would be fine for the most part, if you overclock your CPU, for sure, it would be fine.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CPU upgrade Mr. Gruntsworthy New Builds 20 February 17, 2011 04:07 PM
VGA upgrade from GTX 260 first, or CPU+mobo upgrade first? panzerfan Video Cards 9 April 6, 2010 08:25 PM
what to upgrade? bissa Off Topic 28 January 10, 2010 12:27 PM
upgrade Boogotop CPU's and Motherboards 6 December 20, 2008 11:41 AM
Looking To Upgrade Scart New Builds 6 September 18, 2008 11:39 AM