Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old April 4, 2012, 12:53 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 63

My System Specs

Default

yeah i dont know depends on the budget i guess. I turned down skyrims settings a hair and it runs way better, I hardly saw a difference I used to run skyrim on max everything without a problem but installing mods probably has something to do with it. I think the mods are causing me to use more vram than the game would normally demand. thanks guys
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old April 4, 2012, 12:54 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,234

My System Specs

Default

The new "official" high res mod is a resource hog. I've switched back to the user created one.
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old April 4, 2012, 03:25 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Fort St. John, BC
Posts: 1,198

My System Specs

Default

I have once in a while had the low fps issue in Skyrim as well (my main place is the tiny balcony on the top of dragon's reach keep, not the big balcony) on 1.25GB cards (570), but almost never. If the guy is still selling it, check the BST sub-forum for the GTX 570 2.5GB version at $265 (I think). I am going to go out on a whim here and say the 570 is worth the upgrade since you like to play all of your games at max settings :).
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes