Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old March 26, 2012, 12:23 PM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,248

My System Specs

Default

You can also try using radeonpro to force a similar xfire profile, that has worked wonders for me with some games with crappy xfire profiles.
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old March 26, 2012, 12:29 PM
Soullessone21's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Calgary AB
Posts: 1,322

My System Specs

Default

...Explain how hehe never heard of this crazy Voodoo knows as Radeonpro plz explain or link?
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old March 26, 2012, 12:32 PM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,248

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soullessone21 View Post
...Explain how hehe never heard of this crazy Voodoo knows as Radeonpro plz explain or link?
RadeonPro: Radeon Games Profiles Automation Tool
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old March 28, 2012, 10:02 AM
Soullessone21's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Calgary AB
Posts: 1,322

My System Specs

Default

Found the strangest fix for this... Turn off V Sync and now all games max out on her system and Starwars has no more glitches... Always enable it after SCII came out and I watched a customers GPU fry out.

Thanks for all the help guys
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old March 28, 2012, 10:14 AM
Adzsask's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: SK
Posts: 831

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soullessone21 View Post
Found the strangest fix for this... Turn off V Sync and now all games max out on her system and Starwars has no more glitches... Always enable it after SCII came out and I watched a customers GPU fry out.

Thanks for all the help guys
Well glad it was an easy fix, probably the same issue with my CF setup, but I'll be honest, I just wanted to not have any driver probs so I switched sides hahaha. Also I play a ton of SC2, never heard of GPU's frying before, is it at the menu screen where the frame rates slowly keep climbing? or is that just my personal problem with the game? not sure.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old March 28, 2012, 10:17 AM
Soullessone21's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Calgary AB
Posts: 1,322

My System Specs

Default

it was a full recall and it was a notice sent out to all Blizzard retailers, do a google search about Starcraft II burning out GPUs
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old March 28, 2012, 10:19 AM
Adzsask's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: SK
Posts: 831

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soullessone21 View Post
it was a full recall and it was a notice sent out to all Blizzard retailers, do a google search about Starcraft II burning out GPUs
Well I have played since release on 7 different cards for 12 hours+ at once on each card, I would call that tested enough for my books, no way I have that version still and never popped a card yet.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old March 28, 2012, 10:25 AM
Soullessone21's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Calgary AB
Posts: 1,322

My System Specs

Default

Most the card we saw that failed were 460's with not enough cooling but if the system had even half assed cooling 99% of them had no issues :)
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old March 28, 2012, 12:24 PM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,066

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soullessone21 View Post
it was a full recall and it was a notice sent out to all Blizzard retailers, do a google search about Starcraft II burning out GPUs
It wasn't actually Blizzard titles, they just got put into the Limelight because thats where the first reports trickled from. It was a Driver issue that caused the fan profile to no work correctly and the failsafe fan profile wouldn't kick in.

-ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old March 28, 2012, 01:00 PM
Adzsask's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: SK
Posts: 831

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soullessone21 View Post
Most the card we saw that failed were 460's with not enough cooling but if the system had even half assed cooling 99% of them had no issues :)
LOL, I was running SLI 460's when SC2 dropped.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Collector editions muse108dc Gaming 6 February 29, 2012 01:37 PM
XFX versus Sapphire HD 7770 StefanWylde Video Cards 1 February 28, 2012 12:13 PM
Site bugs/glitches gromacs Suggestions & Feedback 4 February 1, 2012 12:39 PM
Bf3 Fun times - Explosions and Glitches fhrope Gaming 13 December 3, 2011 11:23 AM
[FS] SOLD - 2 x Evga GTX 280 SSC Editions rjbarker Buy/Sell & Trade 18 July 30, 2010 10:33 AM