Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
View Poll Results: Will my Phenom II X4 945 3GHz bottleneck a GTX 680?
Yes, a lot 12 36.36%
slightly. overclock your cpu and you'll be fine 12 36.36%
No it won't 9 27.27%
Voters: 33. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 23, 2012, 09:33 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Italia
Posts: 25

My System Specs

Default Upgrading to GTX 680 with a PhenomII. Is it worth?

Hello! I just read the GTX 680 review and I'm really really impressed! The GTX 680 is epic! So I was thinking to sell my GTX 570 to buy the GTX 680. The problem is I don't really know if my AMD Phenom II X4 945 is enough to handle the GTX 680. My fear is I buy the GTX 680, and I discover it performs like the GTX 570 I already have, because it is cpu limited.
Is my pc good enough for a GTX 680, or I need to change all the pc to by it? (In this scenario I would keep the GTX 570 untill I buy a new pc).
Thanks in advance. Let me know what you think. Thanks again :)
__________________
CM 590, Enermax 525W, 3570k @4.0GHz, MSI mpower, Crucial 4x2GB 1866MHz, GTX 570 glh, Crucial M4 128GB, 2TB Hard Drive, Samsung P2450H
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 23, 2012, 09:42 AM
dandelioneater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 1,114

My System Specs

Default

If really want to have the new card and can get the 680 for a good price then sure, why not. Sell the 570 and you will almost be halfway to buying the 680. As far as your phenom bottlenecking your card, just overclock it a bit and you should be fine.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 23, 2012, 09:47 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,358

My System Specs

Default

As far as I'm concerned, your CPU is already a bottleneck for your GPU, specially if it is not overclocked. As for how much, I wouldn't be able to tell, it depends on the games you play, the resolution you use and the details used.

I got a Phenom II X4 940 (basicly the same as what you have) running at 3.5 and I feel it bottlenecks a bit my GTX 560Ti (non 448).
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 23, 2012, 09:51 AM
dandelioneater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 1,114

My System Specs

Default

^^ so then I guess 2 possible decisions exist:

1) buy 680, sell 570, oc CPU to the MAX
2) Don't buy 680, keep 570, think about future upgrade (IB), 680 might drop in price.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 23, 2012, 10:14 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Italia
Posts: 25

My System Specs

Default

Wow. Guys thank you very very much for the quick replies. I was starting to reply to the first post and suddenly there are 2 more posts :P
Ok I feared my Phenom II was getting old that is why I asked before spending a lot of money. Basically when I upgraded from GTX 460 GLH to my GTX 570 GLH, I noticed a very good improvement. I made 2 3Dmark11 tests one when I had the GTX 460 and one when I upgraded (keeping the same system) with the GTX 570
With the GTX 460 GLH I had a score of P3206: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 460 video card benchmark result - AMD Phenom II X4 Processor 945,ASUSTeK Computer INC. M4A785TD-M EVO score: P3206 3DMarks
3Dmark11 results for the slightly overclocked GTX 570 GLH P4456:NVIDIA GeForce GTX 570 video card benchmark result - AMD Phenom II X4 Processor 945,ASUSTeK Computer INC. M4A785TD-M EVO score: P4456 3DMarks
Moreover I noticed improvements with the games I play. So since the GTX 680 review was so good, I was hoping to improve my gaming experience (just like I did switching from the GTX 460 to the GTX 570) without changing the whole system.
But from what I read here I am already at my limit with a GTX 570, so I have to decide from the 2 choices dandelioneater gave me! Probably the wise choice would be the second one, even if the temptation to buy a GTX 680 is very strong! The problem is I still have the ugly AMD stock cooler, and even if I buy a custom cooler that fits into my CM590, I don't think my motherboard is very suited for overclocking (so maybe I could overclock my cpu from 3.0GHz to 3.4GHz at maximum).
I'm deciding what to do. Every suggestion from everyone would be very much appreciated.
Thank you again for the help dandelioneater and Kilauea.
__________________
CM 590, Enermax 525W, 3570k @4.0GHz, MSI mpower, Crucial 4x2GB 1866MHz, GTX 570 glh, Crucial M4 128GB, 2TB Hard Drive, Samsung P2450H
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 23, 2012, 10:15 AM
Adzsask's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: SK
Posts: 831

My System Specs

Default

I don't believe an OC will let you get all you can from your current GPU. I would grab a new processor before anything(remember, phenom2 X4 get beaten by stock i3's in some games) Grab an X6, or i5/i7 and OC to at least 4.0 and then your golden.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 23, 2012, 10:23 AM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,210

My System Specs

Default

X6's are getting very hard to find, and don't necessarily offer better performance, unless you go with a 1090 or 1100T.

NCIX only has a 1045T in stock, which isn't an improvement over your 945 IMO.
Memory Express's website doesn't have any X6's in stock
Newegg.ca only has the 1045T in stock.

I don't think you've going to find any decent X6 CPU's unless you find a used 1100T. Which could actually be the way to go...
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 23, 2012, 10:25 AM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,635

My System Specs

Default

What resolution are you gaming at? The higher the resolution, the smaller the bottleneck.

Having said that, it's a huge bottleneck already and unless you game at some Retina like resolution, you're better off keeping the GTX 570 imo.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 23, 2012, 10:30 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Italia
Posts: 25

My System Specs

Default

Thanks everyone for the suggestions. I opened a poll so you can vote and help me to take the best decision :)

Quote:
Originally Posted by geokilla View Post
What resolution are you gaming at? The higher the resolution, the smaller the bottleneck.

Having said that, it's a huge bottleneck already and unless you game at some Retina like resolution, you're better off keeping the GTX 570 imo.
I play on a Samsung 24'' with a resolution of 19201080 pixels. The rest of the configuration is on the signature.
__________________
CM 590, Enermax 525W, 3570k @4.0GHz, MSI mpower, Crucial 4x2GB 1866MHz, GTX 570 glh, Crucial M4 128GB, 2TB Hard Drive, Samsung P2450H
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 23, 2012, 10:49 AM
ern88's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia
Posts: 302

My System Specs

Default

Ya, I would say that it would have a good performance lose with your Phenom II. Too bad you couldn't find a 1100T. That would help you.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Worth upgrading to SB from my E8400??? ern88 CPU's and Motherboards 33 April 6, 2011 06:16 PM
Worth upgrading? or wait it out? ezytgr New Builds 8 March 28, 2011 07:51 AM
Worth Upgrading From Audigy 2 ZS? Berlusconi Audio 14 November 19, 2010 07:29 AM
Firefox 3.6. Is it worth upgrading? GMJim O/S's, Drivers & General Software 15 March 5, 2010 01:25 PM
Is it worth Upgrading to 8gb of ram jasonmoreau RAM 12 April 11, 2008 12:55 AM