Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old March 7, 2012, 07:44 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 643

My System Specs

Default

I watched the video. I think a 6950 will be more than enough to run GW2 on max settings.

In fact, I think a 6870 would do.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old March 7, 2012, 02:33 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 421

My System Specs

Default

6950 vs 560Ti we will be nice and say in a general sence the 560Ti is by no means a DOWNGRADE, its a slight bump in most things. Anyways. 6950 should be ample powerfull enough even without overclocking, SHOULD be able to either max out the game or pretty darn close with good FPS, if not, there is always overclocking, Othewise, Radeon 7870 is defiantely a decent boost vs the 6950 and chances are Nvidias Kepler will come out and be faster or at least drop the price of the 7800/7900 series cards.

Corsair HX series power supplies, or XFX power supplies 650+ are more then enough power for a single card even with heavy overclocking in that system, the XFX 650 usually goes for around $65 or so(can get it on sale at newegg often enough) and is an EXCELLENT power supply, if not, there is also HX750, Seasonic X-760, XFX 750, or some of the Antec units, even Enermax has some very nice ones now.

I say try the game out first, if its not performing the way it should, overclock some(read up on this obviously) or just get a new card such as a Radeon 7870 or 7950 or whatever Nvidia Kepler will be.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old March 7, 2012, 05:18 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 17
Default

if my comp doesn't perform to the level i want on Guild wars 2, i will sell my current Ocz 650w and get a RAIDMAX RX-850AE 850W then get another 6950 and cf them. although it appears the raidmax 850w doesn't come with enough 6 pin connectors oddly i can just buy some :) ty for your time
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old March 7, 2012, 05:50 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,842

My System Specs

Default

I think your computer should be good as is. If you end up changing out the powersupply get a quality PSU. I don't recommend the raidmax either. If you are unsure then grab an antec, seasonic, xfx, or corair PSU and you will be good to go.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old March 7, 2012, 10:50 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 17
Default

what is a safe but stable core voltage for my msi tf iii 6950 ? ive looked everywhere and there is no-where saying the most stable yet powerfull voltage im currently going with 1170 volts and 900 core clock with 1325 memory clock
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old March 7, 2012, 10:56 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,535

My System Specs

Default

I think you mean 1.170 volts lol, just keep the voltages stock unless you're overclocking and start getting artifacts, then increase it by 0.5mv at a time.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old March 14, 2012, 06:40 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 427

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 16eiverse View Post
if my comp doesn't perform to the level i want on Guild wars 2, i will sell my current Ocz 650w and get a RAIDMAX RX-850AE 850W then get another 6950 and cf them. although it appears the raidmax 850w doesn't come with enough 6 pin connectors oddly i can just buy some :) ty for your time
yeah my 2nd 6950 is 2nd hand/open box from ncix, saved some money there, and before that I got a XFX black edition 750W silver rated, very quiet and seasonic built too

600W is not enough for 6950CF, but 750W is plenty, you don't need 850W
__________________
i7 2700k - 7950 3GB crossfire - 4GB 1866 CL8 - 1600p
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old March 16, 2012, 04:47 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 17
Default

can a 600w psu cf two 7870s?
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old March 16, 2012, 05:57 PM
ern88's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia
Posts: 277

My System Specs

Default

Ya, I think so, But you be close to peak garranteed. Also depends what you have. Save bet to upgrade to a 750 watt PSU
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Money as Debt: WTF? Thund3rball Off Topic 51 November 2, 2010 09:28 PM
Is there a better card for the money right now? bushwickbill Video Cards 24 August 23, 2010 05:42 AM
Free money! encorp Off Topic 28 May 9, 2010 09:59 PM
Plastic Money!! Eagle Eye Off Topic 54 March 12, 2010 05:00 PM
Money for the summer m0pelley99 New Builds 5 July 20, 2009 12:37 PM