Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2012, 06:07 PM
Trial Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: California
Posts: 1
Default How much GDDR5 memory for the skyrim 2k texture pack?

Hello HardwareCanucks community, I came here on behalf of Linus Tech Tips, and I have an important question. I am a huge fan of The Elder Scrolls IV, skyrim, and I am looking to upgrade my computer with an EVGA Geforce GTX 560 ti, but I want to know if I should get the 1 gb or 2 gb version. If anyone here reading this forum has a 1gb GTX 560 and skyrim, I would appreciate it to know end if you tested it with the skyrim 2k texture pack. Thanks so much!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2012, 06:38 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,227

My System Specs

Default

What Res is your monitor running at?
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2012, 06:56 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,473
Default

At 1280x1024 my GTX 560ti on Ultra Settings uses all 1GB of card memory.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2012, 08:51 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,561
Default

2 gigs, regardless. doesn't even matter what resolution unless you're playing at 1024x768.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2012, 11:10 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Fort St. John, BC
Posts: 1,191

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LarkStarr View Post
2 gigs, regardless. doesn't even matter what resolution unless you're playing at 1024x768.
That was not a useful response...

I am playing at 1920x1080 with the high res texture pack (the official one, not the mod) and have not had a problem with 1.25GB of VRAM, sadly I can't give you a for sure yes or no to the question... but you are correct in assuming that higher resolution texture packs require more vram, but 2k is not super demanding, so *I think* you will be fine with either option.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 6, 2012, 08:26 AM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,828
Default

I'm using 1.3gb with the hd pack at 2560*1440. You are going to be right around a gig of vram usage.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
gtx , nvidia , skyrim , video memory

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Skyrim Performance Reyzac Gaming 10 January 29, 2012 06:21 AM
[WTB] emt for skyrim kyle_L Buy/Sell & Trade 0 October 21, 2011 10:42 PM
EA Releasing High Resolution Texture Pack for Dragon Age II FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 7 March 9, 2011 11:09 AM
borderlands 9.11 texture errors BrianHanna Gaming 8 December 17, 2009 04:50 PM
Corsair Unveils Triple Pack Memory Kits for Intel Core i7 Platform MAC Press Releases & Tech News 1 October 22, 2008 03:33 AM