Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 17, 2012, 06:37 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Fort St. John, BC
Posts: 1,181

My System Specs

Default at $400 I kinda want to buy a GTX 580... two of them

Yeah, the MSI Twin frzn II (awesome heatsink) is on sale for $400.... *drool*

I'm so tempted to get 2 of them to upgrade my 2x570, but I can only buy a limit of one per customer so I'm not into the "hassle" of getting a second person.

If not for that, I'd seriously consider this. LOL. Thanks to AMDs (supposedly) high profit margins for their next gen cards, there is no price war/drop yet to not make that a good deal atm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 17, 2012, 07:30 AM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 104

My System Specs

Default

Price match at memory express, they beat their competitors price my 25% of the difference so you may be able to get it for under $400 :)
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 17, 2012, 08:55 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 427

My System Specs

Default

I say we take off and nuke the entire site from orbit

its the only way to be sure
__________________
i7 2700k - 7950 3GB crossfire - 4GB 1866 CL8 - 1600p
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 17, 2012, 09:07 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: London, Ontario
Posts: 644

My System Specs

Default

I low memex's price beat but sometimes I feel bad for them.

They have a ram kit for $55 and newegg had it onsale for $30. With price beating I got 2 kits from memex for $25 each.

I love the price on the 580 buts I can't afford upgrading my 570s :(.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 17, 2012, 09:19 AM
Adzsask's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: SK
Posts: 831

My System Specs

Default

With X2 570's it isn't really the best option, but that is one crazy price, i'm holding out on a single 480, so I think you should be able to easily sit on the 570's and let the new series come out and drop the rest.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 17, 2012, 09:39 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Fort St. John, BC
Posts: 1,181

My System Specs

Default

I run surround gaming on 3 monitors... I can't play BF 3 at max settings, even with the screen resolution set to 4912x900 (or 1600x900 equivalent). I have a few games I can't max out and even Skyrim doesn't like to stay lag free in all scenarios (I have extra graphics enhancing mods instaled).

I wonder if mem ex. will price match that? Buy one at NCIX for the sale price and the other at mem ex? Still, best not to tempt myself with the next generation coming out this year... Better to wait for that and the ensuing price war (I hope there is one as competitive as we saw when the 6xxx series came out and then the 5xx).
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 17, 2012, 10:00 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 96

My System Specs

Default

Is it a ref design?

I have a EVGA gtx 580 1.5Gb
Would they run together in SLI?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 18, 2012, 04:27 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,596

My System Specs

Default

Personally I don't think the upgrade from 2x570 to 2x580 would be worth the cost and effort.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Gigabyte Z77-D3H, i5 3570K with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb 1600mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 18, 2012, 07:58 PM
Delavan's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mtl
Posts: 1,149
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond007 View Post
Personally I don't think the upgrade from 2x570 to 2x580 would be worth the cost and effort.

+1 000 000

Doesn't make much sense (economically) to upgrade from 570's in SLI to 580's in SLI, especially right now...wait for kepler!

If we were talking about 580 Classified 3GB, i'd say yes, it might make sense for max eye candy in some "special" situations where $$$ is no object...
__________________
i7 4770K @ 4.5GHz / Corsair H100i / Maximus VI HERO / 8GB Corsair Vengeance Red LP 1.5V 1866 / N560GTX Ti Twin FROZR II OC / Corsair Performance Pro 128GB SSD / Intel 520 120GB SSD / WD Black 640 GB storage

ROG G53SX laptop: i7 2630QM / 12GB DDR3 / GTX560m 2GB / 750GB 7200rpm (14 000 3Dmarks06)
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 18, 2012, 09:21 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: London
Posts: 1,410

My System Specs

Default

BF3 really benefits from having extra VRAM. So either get a 3GB edition or 2 7950s/7970s IMO.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
wow kinda of sucks right at christmas gingerbee Off Topic 17 December 22, 2009 05:30 AM
ATi Catalyst 9.1 Released! Kinda... Chilly Video Cards 6 January 29, 2009 11:55 AM
wtf kinda card is this Rapid-X Video Cards 52 July 3, 2008 06:46 AM
What Kinda Education you got???? chibi_man Off Topic 70 November 21, 2007 10:05 AM
Haha! Well, this is kinda funny! Patriote Off Topic 8 October 1, 2007 01:42 PM