Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old February 9, 2012, 04:32 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,382

My System Specs

Default

i would probably buy a 7950 before a 580 unless you are buying a used 580
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old February 9, 2012, 04:46 PM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,065

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JJThomp View Post
i would probably buy a 7950 before a 580 unless you are buying a used 580
Yeah I gotta agree with that one.
Newer tech and such..better investment.

-ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old February 9, 2012, 05:58 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 104

My System Specs

Default

Perhaps I just misread your post but I am not sure why you would want to spend money on a less powerful graphics card than what you already have. From what I have read in benchmarks I really don't think that the CPU is limiting your 550ti. Looking at this review on Tom's Hardware the 8core bulldozer keeps up with the Intel2600k when both CPU's have a NVIDIA GTX 580 . So if the bottleneck isn't with the CPU for a card as powerful as the GTX 580 then I doubt it's a bottleneck with your 550ti's in SLI

http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/...x,3043-18.html

If I were you I would just save your money to buy an entirely new system at once. Perhaps when Intel's Ivy Bridge comes out and is a reasonable price.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old February 9, 2012, 08:15 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 6
Default

Make sure you have sli enabled in your Nvidia control panel. Every time I updated the driver I have to re-enable it.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old February 9, 2012, 08:33 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,627

My System Specs

Default

Or you could look into the setup I use for BF3, with Ultra - maxxed-out (except ambiant occlusion SSAO) - settings using a Dell U2412: dual Gigabyte 560s, non-TI version. They were 180$ shipped each (new), and are better / cheaper than a single 580.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old February 9, 2012, 11:02 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,382

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mathus View Post
Perhaps I just misread your post but I am not sure why you would want to spend money on a less powerful graphics card than what you already have. From what I have read in benchmarks I really don't think that the CPU is limiting your 550ti. Looking at this review on Tom's Hardware the 8core bulldozer keeps up with the Intel2600k when both CPU's have a NVIDIA GTX 580 . So if the bottleneck isn't with the CPU for a card as powerful as the GTX 580 then I doubt it's a bottleneck with your 550ti's in SLI

http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/...x,3043-18.html

If I were you I would just save your money to buy an entirely new system at once. Perhaps when Intel's Ivy Bridge comes out and is a reasonable price.
2 550 ti are slightly worse than a 570
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old February 10, 2012, 01:20 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 37
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mathus View Post
Perhaps I just misread your post but I am not sure why you would want to spend money on a less powerful graphics card than what you already have. From what I have read in benchmarks I really don't think that the CPU is limiting your 550ti. Looking at this review on Tom's Hardware the 8core bulldozer keeps up with the Intel2600k when both CPU's have a NVIDIA GTX 580 . So if the bottleneck isn't with the CPU for a card as powerful as the GTX 580 then I doubt it's a bottleneck with your 550ti's in SLI

http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/...x,3043-18.html

If I were you I would just save your money to buy an entirely new system at once. Perhaps when Intel's Ivy Bridge comes out and is a reasonable price.
According to BF3, the GPU's are limiting the CPU. Whenever it used to spike, it was like the graphics cards froze and dragged the cpu with them. The perfoverlay graph showed the GPU's skyrocketting, which dragged the CPU up slighty. According to a forum post this means the GPU's are lagging the CPU. And of course I have SLI enabled, I'm not stupid..
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old February 10, 2012, 03:40 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,382

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pedwar View Post
According to BF3, the GPU's are limiting the CPU. Whenever it used to spike, it was like the graphics cards froze and dragged the cpu with them. The perfoverlay graph showed the GPU's skyrocketting, which dragged the CPU up slighty. According to a forum post this means the GPU's are lagging the CPU. And of course I have SLI enabled, I'm not stupid..
We asked if sli eas enabled because sometimes when you update it turns off.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old February 10, 2012, 05:43 PM
yycraven's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Martensville,SK
Posts: 937

My System Specs

Default

If I was you sell your 550ti cards and get a nice 7950.
That will solve your problem. IMO
__________________
ASRock Extreme 3,2500K,NH-D14,Patriot G2 16GB ,WD 750GB,640GB Sata ,2 GTX 470 SLi Thermaltake toughpower XT850W,Tech Station. V243H,2253LW LCD
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old February 11, 2012, 08:46 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 37
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yycraven View Post
If I was you sell your 550ti cards and get a nice 7950.
That will solve your problem. IMO
That's probably what I'm gonna do. Save up, and see what the prices are between a 580 and a 7950. 7950 is the main target for now though.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What is Bulldozer?? KSiG CPU's and Motherboards 16 October 11, 2011 01:42 PM
Bulldozer delayed again? dma0991 Rumor Mill 39 September 29, 2011 02:49 PM
Bulldozer Ships Sam_Reynolds Press Releases & Tech News 2 September 7, 2011 05:52 PM
Bulldozer now available in China The Package Rumor Mill 7 June 2, 2011 05:35 PM
I7-980X or i7-960 or Bulldozer ivanlyf_2011 New Builds 11 January 2, 2011 10:06 PM