Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old February 7, 2012, 05:04 PM
Rookie

Default 550ti SLI bottleneck?

Recently built a new system, AMD 8150 3.6 GHz, 4 GB 1333MHz RAM, 2 550TI SLI, old HDD. This is the first system I've ever built from scratch, so I am a bit of a noob, but is this a bottleneck? Whenever I play BF3, I get HUGE lag spikes, and according to a forum post, whichever component gets highest on the perfoverlay graph via the console on BF3, is the cause of a bottleneck? Is this a genuine bottleneck or is something else the problem? And if it is, how would I fix it? buy a new video card? Thanks for any advice. :)
Old February 7, 2012, 05:47 PM
F@H

My System Specs

What resolution are you gaming at?
550TI SLI is not overly powerful for BF3, so you are likely VC limited. Depending on settings and such.

-ST

"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Old February 7, 2012, 06:35 PM
Rookie

I've been gaming at 1920 by 1080, I play every game on this resolution and everything else I play runs smoothly with decent FPS and no sudden drops. I know the cards reccomended res is 1680 by 1050, but BF3 lags on every setting. I even tried lowest settings, with 640x400 (I think?) res, and it still spiked like crazy. I know a 550ti isn't the best, but I was hoping 2 of them would give the same performance as a 560ti atleast. They are the ASUS version and have heatpipes so they have pretty good cooling, I even overclocked them to 1 GHZ and 2GHZ shaders and 2100 on the memory. I don't get what's wrong with it, is it even a bottleneck? or is something else wrong here? the low amount of RAM wouldn't cause a GPU/CPU spike would it?
Old February 7, 2012, 06:40 PM
F@H