Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old February 12, 2012, 08:12 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 11
Default

550 Ti aren't the best cards to be running BF3 with. Although, you can try downloading the newest beta drivers; they have better support for SLI
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old August 22, 2012, 03:18 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2
Default

Hate to bump an old thread, but I'm looking for the best BF3/General Gaming 3D settings w/SLI.

For the record a single GTX 550 ti fermi ~ 2GB VM runs BF3 fine (55-72 FPS) 64 player conquest large. Been playing BF3 since launch with this system (specs below ... single card until today).

System Specs
Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD7
AMD Phenom II X6 1090T
G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB (4 x 4GB) DDR3 1866 (PC3 14900)
WD VelociRaptor 10000 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s
2x EVGA GeForce GTX 550 Ti (Fermi) 2GB GDDR5 (driver version: 301.42 ~ 8.17.13.142)
Tagan BZ Series 900 Watt - modular

** Nothing Overclocked **
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old August 22, 2012, 03:46 PM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,066

My System Specs

Default

Whats your budget?
You could run a second one if you'd like, but IIRC 2 x 550TI = 1 570 so....

Maybe pickup a better single card? 670 perhaps?

-ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old August 22, 2012, 04:36 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,118

My System Specs

Default

Im Running a Asus 560 TI and a ASUS 550 TI ( phisex )

This set up runs better than 560 TI on its own or 2 x 550 TI in SLI

Have not Played BF3 with it though.
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old August 22, 2012, 10:55 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2
Default

I have 2 cards already. No need to buy anything. If I was looking to buy anything I'd just buy 4 GTX 690's and call it a day ... but i'm not.

Through testing today I was running 70-85 fps on Ultra settings. I'm just looking for the best "NVidia 3d settings" for the listed SLI setup.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old August 23, 2012, 06:02 AM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,066

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rev0verDrive View Post
I have 2 cards already. No need to buy anything. If I was looking to buy anything I'd just buy 4 GTX 690's and call it a day ... but i'm not.

Through testing today I was running 70-85 fps on Ultra settings. I'm just looking for the best "NVidia 3d settings" for the listed SLI setup.
Use the optimiztion tool over at geforce.com , you'll probably get better results.

-ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
550ti Sli BF3. Pedwar Troubleshooting 4 January 22, 2012 03:29 PM
550Ti Sli? Pedwar Troubleshooting 2 January 19, 2012 09:25 PM
Am I going to be happy with 550Ti SLI? s_mack Video Cards 13 January 14, 2012 09:11 AM
Price check on an Asus 550TI Your_friendly_gamer Price Check 2 January 8, 2012 01:49 PM
Nvidia 550Ti SLI VS 560 Fermi SLI Cadence Video Cards 6 December 26, 2011 11:14 PM