Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 21, 2012, 03:53 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Montenegro
Posts: 7

My System Specs

Talking Newbie, help...

I already posted a thread at "PC Builds" and I said that I'll buy the (Sapphire/Powercolor) Radeon HD 6870
But, I'm starting to wonder if that's the right choice. Why? Because I see people using to for Eyefinity (I think it's called like that), 3D and other stuff...

So, the thing is...I don't need a graphics card that supports 3D, I don't need it to support 2 or more screens. I just need it to play high quality games at 1080p (Ok, maybe BF3 at medium quality, and less that 1080p, but you get the point). And so the main question, should I get the 6870 or should I get some other one since I don't need all of that?

It's not urgent or anything similar, I won't be buying it any soon (unfortunately )

P.S. Your forum's new posts/no new posts icons are beautiful
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 21, 2012, 08:05 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Iowa
Posts: 43

My System Specs

Default

I have the 6970 and it runs bf3 @ 1920x1200 on ultra no problems. If you have the money, why not?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 21, 2012, 08:37 PM
bigFOIG's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 426

My System Specs

Default

6870 is a good choice for your needs. Don't neglect it because there are too many features. All of graphics cards support at least 2 displays nowadays, so you're not paying a premium for it. Don't worry
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 22, 2012, 12:59 AM
neo678123's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Holland
Posts: 46

My System Specs

Smile

the 6870 is good
but (if you're not in lack of money) i would choose the 6950 or the 6970
(unless you're procesor isn't good, for example: you have a pentium dual core 1,7gh'z a gtx590 wouldn't run good on that processor)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 22, 2012, 01:12 AM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,254

My System Specs

Default

Even a 6870 is going to bottlenecked hugely by that Sempy.

TBH zero point in putting money into a Sempron system for gaming. Save your money for a new system pretty much any gaming gfx card will be a waste and bottleneck.

Sorry Man.
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 22, 2012, 03:42 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Montenegro
Posts: 7

My System Specs

Default

Thanks to all for replying...
I never wanted to buy it to replace the card on my current PC. I was thinking of buying a whole new PC build including the i5-2500K and a 600W power supply so I hope it won't be bottlenecked...?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 22, 2012, 05:49 AM
GT7R's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Our universe
Posts: 991

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by smartydix View Post
Thanks to all for replying...
I never wanted to buy it to replace the card on my current PC. I was thinking of buying a whole new PC build including the i5-2500K and a 600W power supply so I hope it won't be bottlenecked...?
In that case it won't.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 22, 2012, 08:35 AM
neojjjk's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ind/Can
Posts: 203

My System Specs

Default

A GTX 550 Ti is enough to play BF3 @ medium setting ,1080p.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 22, 2012, 10:05 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Montenegro
Posts: 7

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by neojjjk View Post
A GTX 550 Ti is enough to play BF3 @ medium setting ,1080p.
Your comment made me really happy
FPS? It won't lag or something?
Plus, the 6870 is something like GTX 560 so...

Last edited by smartydix; January 22, 2012 at 10:30 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 22, 2012, 10:44 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Montreal Canada
Posts: 79
Default

My friend has a GTX 540 and plays bf3 @ 1080p on almost full graphics (no lag) ..I just ordered a galaxy GTX 550 for 120$+tax&shipping .Pretty cheap .. bf3 recommends GTX 560 for max performance .
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Newbie needs help. Bores Easily New Builds 5 December 15, 2009 03:32 AM
Newbie needs advice drterrible Guides & How-to's 4 December 13, 2009 09:44 PM
Newbie here. kav New Builds 78 November 6, 2008 08:04 AM
Newbie To Dc jinthabestmc Off Topic 1 June 6, 2008 03:28 AM
newbie: my first DIY computer Victor5 Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 40 December 12, 2007 08:05 PM