Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 13, 2008, 08:41 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Kelowna, BC.
Posts: 34
Default Can you plug a 3870 x2 into a 780g?

I want to buy a 3870 x2 for my htpc but im not sure if it will run on my 780g motherboard? Or do you need a crossfire motherboard to run a 3870 x2 or will it work on single pci e x16 lane does anyone know befor i blow alot of bucks on somthing that might not work in my computer. Any help is welcome thanxs!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 14, 2008, 01:55 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,401

My System Specs

Default

Everything I've seen (including something I read last night, but don't remember where) suggests that it will run fine in any slot that you'd be able to run a single card so you don't need a crossfire capable board.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 14, 2008, 04:22 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Kelowna, BC.
Posts: 34
Default

Sweet i only need to save $150 bucks and i got my 3870 x2 for my htpc. Man is the girl friend going to be pissed when she sees me stick this thing in my htpc, im going to get kicked out. Oh well give me more time to play games on my 50 inch samsung 1080p LCD.

Watch out crysis here i come. its grand, technology!
Well thanxs!!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 14, 2008, 08:51 AM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,994

My System Specs

Default

Supernode, be sure to try hybrid crossfire on crysis and do benchmarks with it on/off for comparison. Ive been asking around now to see if the 3200 integrated chipset on the 780G can help out the almighty 3870x2 ... or hinder it. So Let us know!!!
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 14, 2008, 03:09 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Kelowna, BC.
Posts: 34
Default

According to amd the cards that will run hybrid graphics are 2400xt,3450,3650 and 3670. So you cant even turn it on i got 3850 in mine right now and hybrid does nothing. it wont let me turn it on the option does show up so i just turned the hybrid off to save memmory. Sorry to dissapoint you!The 3650 ran pretty nice it scored almost 6300 on 3d mark 06 on my computer but i couldnt get a 3670 to test yet! Any way if you got 3870 x2 a 3450 aint going to do much to help a 3870 x2.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 13, 2008, 11:43 AM
Trial Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1
Default Gigabyte 780g (full ATX model) with a Powercolor 3870 x2

I know this thread is a little out of date, but I've had a 780g for a while now and yesterday upgraded with a 3870 x2 card. A couple of points which answer questions here:

1. The 3870 x2 carries its' own PCIE bridge for comms between the GPUs so it acts like any other stand alone graphics card with respect to Crossfire - you don't need it on the board.

2. The on board graphics cannot use Hybrid Crossfire with this chip, and automatically shuts down as soon as the 3870 x2 is detected. There is no way (afaik) that you can reactivate it.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 13, 2008, 01:51 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Terrace, BC
Posts: 558
Default

actual;ly, prolly best to reinstall it all!. Get the best results from a X2 stock. Dont mess it up with other drivers or softwares. Just let the X2 run with no messing around.
__________________
Acer 5920G ( Stock Air ) no OC:P
At least its DX10!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD 780G Chipset! ZOMG CMetaphor Press Releases & Tech News 15 March 17, 2008 07:38 PM
Flashing 3870 Ugly n Grey Video Cards 8 February 23, 2008 08:26 PM
8800GT SLI not better than 3870 CF? cmhyt Video Cards 14 December 4, 2007 02:21 PM
xfx motherboard, vreg fan plug?? Ukonjack Troubleshooting 1 December 3, 2007 08:27 PM