Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 18, 2012, 09:51 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 9
Default Upgrading from 8800 GTS 320MB

My system is a Q6600 quadcore CPU, 2GB ram.

Currently have a 8800 GTS 320MB card. Have not been doing much gaming, but lately started getting into Skyrim, and kids are asking about some games like batman arkham city.

I play skyrim on a single monitor at 1080p, but with my current setup get stuttering on anything higher then the 'low' setting. Would love to set it to ulta-high and play with some of the texture mods available.

Any suggestions on cards to look at? don't want to spend more then about $200. Something with batman arkham city bundled would be even better.

Will likely do a major upgrade in the Fall, and be looking at the next gen of CPU/GPU then.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 18, 2012, 10:05 AM
Adzsask's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: SK
Posts: 831

My System Specs

Default

Either a 6870 or 560, i'd push the budget up to $240 and grab the least expensive 560 Ti myself.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 18, 2012, 03:28 PM
trancewhiiz's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: BC
Posts: 28
Default

Make sure not to upgrade too high on the video card. Q6600 will be a bottleneck to newer cards.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 18, 2012, 04:53 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 9
Default

Thanks for the suggestions.

Looking at a used 560 ti someone local is selling. The Q6600 is overclocked to 3GHZ. Do you think it will be able to keep up with that GPU?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 18, 2012, 05:54 PM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 3,079

My System Specs

Default

First off I would say go for a gtx 560.

Secondly you only have 2gb ram and that may be as big of a problem as your video card. I suggest going to atleast 4gb total (so grab another 2gb stick if you have a single stick of 2gb now or if its 2x1gb sticks grab 2x2gb or 2x4gb depending on the deal you can get on it and what your motherboard supports). If it was my computer and budget was a constraint I would say a gtx 560 and some more ram over a gtx 560Ti (that said if you can swing the Ti and the ram that's even better).
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, HD 6950(unlocked shaders and OC'd), Bitfenix Fury 750w, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 18, 2012, 07:00 PM
yycraven's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Martensville,SK
Posts: 937

My System Specs

Default

If you can buy the used GTX 560Ti great if not pick one of these up at new egg
Newegg.ca - PNY VCGGTX560XPB GeForce GTX 560 (Fermi) 1GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Support Video Card
Newegg.ca - MSI R6870 Hawk Radeon HD 6870 1GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.1 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video Card with Eyefinity
and then buy some more ram, at least have 8GB of ram
what are your system spec
__________________
ASRock Extreme 3,2500K,NH-D14,Patriot G2 16GB ,WD 750GB,640GB Sata ,2 GTX 470 SLi Thermaltake toughpower XT850W,Tech Station. V243H,2253LW LCD
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 18, 2012, 08:24 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,455

My System Specs

Default

More ram = a happy computer. Start with that and see how it goes. It's just so cheap right now...
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2012, 09:34 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 9
Default

Memory would be good, but this uses ddr2-800 RAM which is not so cheap (compared to what DDR3 is going for).

I don't want to throw too much money into this system, as I plan to upgrade in the next year.

Current system is:

Q6600 running at 3Ghz
Abit IP35 Pro motherboard
OCZ DDR2-800 RAM (2x1GB)
120GB SSD drive
3x2TB drives in RAID5 for storage
Antec Sonata Designer 500 case with 500W earthwatts power supply

My other concern is if the power supply will be enough to handle the new video card.

If I can get that used 560 ti, I may look at getting a more heavy duty power supply that I can eventually move to the new system. Maybe pickup a water cooling solution too that can move from current 775 socket to 1155. Can see if I can get the CPU higher then 3GHZ then.

Also running windows 7 32bit, so anything more then 4GB and I need to do a reload to 64bit.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2012, 02:26 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,455

My System Specs

Default

Bit of a sticky wicket yeh? Sort of caught between a rock and a hard place imo. You definately need to upgrade but where do you start exactly would be the question. I reckon you might wanna try and pull the trigger on something now and save yourself some probable annoying hassles.

Soulstone is selling a complete system OBO for around 400 dollars. But I'm not sure if it comes with a psu.
http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...und-tower.html
This would run the games you want much better. It comes with win7 64 bit which is easy enough to extract the cd key and find the coresponding disk for future re-installs.

He also has a bunch of ram forsale too. The 32 bit OS is really going to hinder you and I really wouldn't throw money at your current rig as you've pretty much hit the wall with it. I have never had anything but problems with Antec PSU's and I would also worry about it not liking a new more powerful vid card like the 560. It if pops then what?
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2012, 05:45 PM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 3,079

My System Specs

Default

Sorry I missed that you were going to be doing a new build next year. Your power supply is good, but I don't know if I would run an OC Q6600 and a gtx 560Ti together on it (that will be quite a bit of power). It all comes down to how much you want to invest in your current rig. I would say try and grab 2x1gb ddr2 (preferably used and cheap) and that would be it for non-reusable investment. After that go for GTX 560/560Ti and a corsair/seasonic/xfx/antec 650w power supply when you can afford it. Both of those could be carried over in to a new computer.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, HD 6950(unlocked shaders and OC'd), Bitfenix Fury 750w, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8800GTS 320MB howpet Video Cards 8 June 28, 2010 04:38 PM
8800GTS 320MB Dr_BenD_over Video Cards 4 November 4, 2009 08:54 PM
eVGA 8800 GTS 320MB yycraven Buy/Sell & Trade 3 December 11, 2007 04:54 AM
eVGA 8800GTS 320mb Synth Buy/Sell & Trade 2 December 10, 2007 10:39 AM
Best 8800 gts 320mb Video Card silverchair Video Cards 6 August 15, 2007 07:45 AM