Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 14, 2012, 10:59 AM
neo678123's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Holland
Posts: 46

My System Specs

Smile bottleneck?

i want to buy a pc do i get a bottleneck with:
a
AMD FX-8120 eight core
and
a
Nvidia GTX590

thanks
neo
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 14, 2012, 11:55 AM
bissa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Kelowna BC
Posts: 1,160

My System Specs

Default

you shouldn't since they are both current gen tech. chances are the bottleneck you will run into is the hard drive you use.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 14, 2012, 11:55 AM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 164
Default

Not really, you might be CPU bound in games that can't use 8 threads well but it won't bottleneck per se.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 14, 2012, 01:47 PM
Phill's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Morden MB
Posts: 592

My System Specs

Default

no to the bottleneck but I would also seriously suggest you have a look at a 2500K instead. IMO better for gaming and it looks like that is what you intend to do.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 14, 2012, 01:52 PM
Phill's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Morden MB
Posts: 592

My System Specs

Default

also what kind of res you gaming at? IMO I would go for a 7970 over a 590 ATM.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 14, 2012, 01:56 PM
neo678123's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Holland
Posts: 46

My System Specs

Default

thanks the 2500k is more expansvie but i thinks it suit better
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 14, 2012, 02:13 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,927

My System Specs

Default

amd cpu often give lower frame rates than intel (currently atleast...hopefully it will change at some point). IMO go with a 2500k or if you will not OC then a 2400 to save a few bucks.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 14, 2012, 03:03 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 432

My System Specs

Default

Radeon 7970 and Phenom IIx4 955 and overclock it, you will not suffer any performance issues.

My 6870 OC and 955 even at stock speeds gets very good performance.

So to act as if Intel is so much faster, and AMD is "slow" is a flat out lie.

Radeon 6870 965 core and 1135 memory
955BE at 4.0-4.2 1.41v
8gb ddr3 1866 running 1333 7,7,7,20,25 or 1740 9,10,9,24,28

BF3 medium/high 1920x1080 AA2x AF4x HBAO off, blur off.

My average FPS is around 55 high FPS is 85-92

If you want to talk, junk, its not the bulldozer CPU its the 590. Bulldozer are not the greatest, but, 590s most certainly are not either.

2 560Ti or 2 560448 core, or single 5803gb or a 7950/7970 would be a FAR FAR better choice.

2500k/2600k are faster yes, but MOST games at 1920x1080 for single/dual card use, show little to no difference with Phenom IIx4/x6 or FX8, most games are getting very similar frame rates, the ones that are faster for Intel, are generally WAY beyond usuable frame rates for both Intel and AMD.

Believe me, I know many folks that use Intel i7 900 series, Sandy, sandy E as well as Phenom, Phenom II x4 and x6 as well as a few now getting Bulldozers and very very few folks see a direct advantage, the only exception is folks using quad sli or crossfire x example 2 590s or 2 6990s, then yes, it would make more sence to go with Sandy-E.

Anyways, take it as you will. AMD chips have more then enough performance to feed a single card, X2 card, even some tri card setups, even without overclocking.

You want to go Intel, it should be a choice in regards to what you will be doing, not based on some bologney "they are just faster" line.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 14, 2012, 04:22 PM
Phill's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Morden MB
Posts: 592

My System Specs

Default

whoa... I could be wrong but I detect a hint of disdain or hostility? Seems logical that for around the same price one would buy the better cpu... --------> 2500K > 8120

I am not splitting hairs here either. If he wants to go AMD he has my blessing but it makes sense to get more for ones money.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 14, 2012, 06:13 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,927

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phill View Post
whoa... I could be wrong but I detect a hint of disdain or hostility? Seems logical that for around the same price one would buy the better cpu... --------> 2500K > 8120

I am not splitting hairs here either. If he wants to go AMD he has my blessing but it makes sense to get more for ones money.
Agreed. Its not that there is anything wrong with a 955...its still a good cpu, but its not at the top anymore. And the post wasn't about a 955...it was an 8120. Bottom line is a 2500k will outperform an 8120 in almost everything for a similar amount of $. I have only ever had amd in my main computer (and still do), but if I was replacing it right now it would be intel...AMD is not the game anymore (hopefully that gets sorted out soon, but I have my doubts).
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Would I bottleneck? Marwan5418 New Builds 3 January 10, 2012 06:50 PM
Where is my bottleneck now... Skyllz Video Cards 11 July 21, 2010 08:07 PM
Could my ram be the bottleneck? andynerd Troubleshooting 10 July 18, 2010 09:00 AM
Bottleneck? mjpd1983 Gaming 7 June 16, 2010 06:56 AM
Will my CPU bottleneck the GTX 260 shaman44 Video Cards 15 March 29, 2010 08:46 PM