Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 10, 2012, 09:43 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 4
Default Old video card (X1600 XT) - Will new one get better FPS?

Hi forum members,

First time poster here. Great forum, great articles!

I run a Pentium D 2.80ghz, 4 gigs ram.. Currently using a Radeon X1600 XT (PCI-E) and a Radeon 9200 Pro (PCI) for a quad-monitor setup. I use this computer to program (quad monitor) but occasionally like to game (AA3, thinking of getting Battlefield 3).

I only get 20-25 fps when in AA3.. doesn't matter if I pull the PCI vid card or not, still runs the same.

I'm looking at a GTX 550 ti video card to replace the X1600 XT. Will this give me a decent performance boost? I'd be happy in the 45-60 fps range with the current system until I save some more 'free' cash to upgrade to a quad core or better processor.

All thoughts are appreciated.

Cameron
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 10, 2012, 10:13 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,658
Default

Don't bother that cpu is gonna be your worst nightmare er hardware for bottlenecks
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 10, 2012, 10:16 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 159

My System Specs

Default

^ what he said
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 10, 2012, 10:31 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 85
Default

Keep in mind that some tasks for rendering 3d graphics are 100% the video cards job, others tasks fall more on the cpu and more often then not are a mix of both.

In the case of more then one video card if their both going at it on the same task then you up with a lot of sub system drain ~ cpu ram.

In the case of res and textures its 100% the video cards job.
Meaning if your at min game setting at low res and you try and raise the res and you see the fps drop when using a fps counter like fraps then your video card is topped out.

As well your trying to run a D3D 10.0+, pixel Shader Model 4.0 game on a video card that only supports in hardware D3D9c + pixel Shader Model 3.0.

As many know the main difference from d3d10+ vs d3d9 was really replacing direct draw with direct2d and adding in pixel shader 4.0, more then that and it was all so made it seems to brake compatibility with older versions of windows.

Direct2d is vomit as well i might add on the compatibility topic.

All in all ya id go for it, it should give you a little extra something as well given time when you swap out the mobo~ram~cpu you video card will all ready be payed for.

My self im waiting for the 560ti to get cheaper, i wont touch the geforce 4xx cards.
they all suck in openGL.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 10, 2012, 10:34 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,658
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jumpload View Post
Keep in mind that some tasks for rendering 3d graphics are 100% the video cards job, others tasks fall more on the cpu and more often then not are a mix of both.

In the case of more then one video card if their both going at it on the same task then you up with a lot of sub system drain ~ cpu ram.

In the case of res and textures its 100% the video cards job.
Meaning if your at min game setting at low res and you try and raise the res and you see the fps drop when using a fps counter like fraps then your video card is topped out.

As well your trying to run a D3D 10.0+, pixel Shader Model 4.0 game on a video card that only supports in hardware D3D9c + pixel Shader Model 3.0.

As many know the main difference from d3d10+ vs d3d9 was really replacing direct draw with direct2d and adding in pixel shader 4.0, more then that and it was all so made it seems to brake compatibility with older versions of windows.

Direct2d is vomit as well i might add on the compatibility topic.

All in all ya id go for it, it should give you a little extra something as well given time when you swap out the mobo~ram~cpu you video card will all ready be payed for.

My self im waiting for the 560ti to get cheaper, i wont touch the geforce 4xx cards.
they all suck in openGL.
Bad advice. The system needs a total upgrade before seeing any benefits
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 10, 2012, 10:37 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 85
Default

true but you lose nothing by changing the video card now seeing as when you change the rest down the road the video card is all ready pay-for as all ready stated.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 10, 2012, 10:52 PM
yycraven's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Martensville,SK
Posts: 937

My System Specs

Default

You have lasted this long with what you have, maybe stick with it till you have more money to do a full upgrade, your waste your money to buy a GTX 550Ti.
So when you do have the cash then get a good card and mobo and cpu and ram well the whole 9 yards really.
for you to get just a card and use it with a P4 D 2.8Ghz single core your not going to like playing BF3.
this is just my 2 cents.
__________________
ASRock Extreme 3,2500K,NH-D14,Patriot G2 16GB ,WD 750GB,640GB Sata ,2 GTX 470 SLi Thermaltake toughpower XT850W,Tech Station. V243H,2253LW LCD
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 10, 2012, 11:59 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 164
Default

Agree, BF3 ain't going to happen in any sort of satisfying way. You aren't going to get 45fps with any video card at any settings in that rig I would wager.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 11, 2012, 04:31 AM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 3,081

My System Specs

Default

Need a new system for BF3.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, HD 6950(unlocked shaders and OC'd), Bitfenix Fury 750w, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 11, 2012, 08:07 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 646

My System Specs

Default

I would agree too. From recent experience a cpu bottleneck in today's games will result in low fps no matter what video card you put into it.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
old video card new better

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Video card and sound card in pci-e h0nam Video Cards 7 October 21, 2010 12:26 AM
[WTB] AGP X1300/X1600/X1650/6200/6600/7300/7600 b1lk1 Buy/Sell & Trade 4 December 19, 2009 04:33 PM
WTB: Video Card/Sound Card/Hard drive - Look here if u gotz some ! Flintblade Buy/Sell & Trade 4 December 4, 2008 10:27 PM
LF ATI X1550, X1600 or X1650 series AGP8x Pike Buy/Sell & Trade 2 October 30, 2008 11:01 AM
X1600 Pro Crossfire or Single X1650 XT? BALISTX Video Cards 8 April 4, 2007 12:09 PM