Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 4, 2012, 02:08 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Nepean Ont
Posts: 24

My System Specs

Default Which Card (Screen Resolution)

My native screen resolution is 2048 x 1152 (Yes I know it's odd)

Should I even be considering a card with 1 gig of ram or should I be looking @ a minimum of 1.25 to 2 gigs of ram

Thanks for you input.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 4, 2012, 04:12 PM
techman95's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: TEXAS
Posts: 322

My System Specs

Default

well what games do you play? if you play games like bf3 or open world games then go with something with at least 1.25gb of vram preferably 2gb
__________________
Amd....definitely a blond female.....not much on the cpu side, but always strutting about showing off her gpus
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 4, 2012, 04:57 PM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,066

My System Specs

Default

Which Monitor runs at that Res?

Otherwise Opt for more VRam. Regardless of game.

-ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 4, 2012, 07:29 PM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,825

My System Specs

Default

Depends on games and settings you like to play with.. high AA (in most modern games) will probably make use of more than 1 GB whereas if your not bothered then you will probably just about get away with 1GB.

Have you a budget?
Your budget will limit your choices more than anything.

If i was gaming on that res I would probably want a 580 with 1.5GB or a 6970 with 2GB (but then I like to have plenty of shiny)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 5, 2012, 03:10 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Nepean Ont
Posts: 24

My System Specs

Default

Thanks for you input guy's


Which Monitor runs at that Res?

CC was blowing out some 23" Samsungs a couple of years ago it's cheap but it works....



Otherwise Opt for more VRam. Regardless of game.

This is exactly what I thought.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 5, 2012, 04:32 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,597

My System Specs

Default

Yep, you're definitely going to want a card that has at least 1.5GB of VRAM in it, with 2GB being the most you'll really need (right now)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
screen res controlled by actual screen or laptop supaflyx3 Mobile Computing 3 July 29, 2010 08:36 PM
Screen out of resolution when coming out of standby? chouchou Troubleshooting 2 July 28, 2009 04:53 PM
Blue Screen O death with New Graphics Card Reddog Troubleshooting 17 February 21, 2009 01:01 PM
1650X1080 max resolution, what card? Skyllz Video Cards 6 October 27, 2008 10:35 AM