Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 28, 2011, 08:43 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 12
Default MSI Radeon 6950 Options - Which to Get?

Hey guys,

Just looking for some quick advice - at the same price point, would you prefer the Twin Frozr II 2GB version, or the Twin Frozr III 1GB version?

As I understand, the Twin Frozr III should be unlockable even at 1GB due to the dual bios switch, but I'm wondering if the extra shaders / speed would be worth the tradeoff for half the VRAM?

Resolution will be 1920x1080.

Thanks!

Last edited by Fireball; December 28, 2011 at 08:55 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 28, 2011, 09:02 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 159

My System Specs

Default

Only the first revision 6950's could be unlocked to 6970 shaders, all the new ones have the cores laser cut so you cannot unlock them. Between the two I would pick the 2gb because for me, I am using the same resolution and bf3 easily uses ~1.3gb vram
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 29, 2011, 06:00 AM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,903

My System Specs

Default

Also at that res you should be fine for about a year before ram remotely becomes more of an issue than the raw power of the card.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 29, 2011, 06:45 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 444

My System Specs

Default

Dual bios switch, has more or less nothing to do with the unlocking of the card, its usually so the user can screw around with a different bios and if things go bad, you revert to older bios.

Also the 2gb cards were the only ones that could have a "chance" of unlocking, and very very few of them now do that, as someone mentioned they disable permanently these extra shaders, but I believe the tiwn Forzr 3 2gb and XFX XXX(830 core) are among the only ones left that still have a chance (65% or so) if unlocking, even if they dont get the extra shaders, they usually will up the ram clocks-core clocks and such, but not power tune limits.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 29, 2011, 07:01 AM
maverick_brent's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 469

My System Specs

Default

Go with the 2gb version.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 29, 2011, 07:16 AM
Kommie986's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Waterloo, Ontario
Posts: 601

My System Specs

Default

I'm pretty sure the power edition unlocks.

MSI R6950 Twin Frozr III Power Edition Unlocking - Unlocking Guide
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 29, 2011, 07:48 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 608

My System Specs

Default

That's a really old article, plus, I don't think I've ever seen the power edition being sold in Canada.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 7, 2012, 02:47 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 12
Default

Hey guys,

Thanks kindly for all the help! I ended up going with the MSI 6950 2GB. Fortunately, it appears I was lucky and was able to unlock the shaders on the card, so I wonder if some of the newer cards in circulation have not had the shaders lasered?

Sorry for not having any pre-unlock screens, but here is the GPU-Z screenshot of the shaders (apologies if it's the incorrect format - I'm new to this!.



At this point, do the usual GPU overclocking principles apply, or would I be able to immediately apply 6970 clocks and expect it to run hunky-dory?

As always, thanks kindly for all of the advice and insight.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 7, 2012, 04:09 AM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,903

My System Specs

Default

You won't get full 6970 oc clocks.

Just oc as normal and see what you can reach.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 7, 2012, 07:05 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 608

My System Specs

Default

I'd be surprised as heck if you can't OC to 6970 speeds easily because my reference XFX 6950 has no problem surpassing stock 6970 speeds without any voltage increase.
Mind you I have aftermarket cooling, but so do you.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sapphire Launches Radeon HD 6950 TOXIC Edition, Fastest HD 6950 Yet Sam_Reynolds Press Releases & Tech News 2 August 5, 2011 03:25 PM
radeon 6950 or gtx 560ti fatpc44 Video Cards 5 July 18, 2011 02:30 PM
XFX Radeon HD 6950 XXX 1GB or MSI GTX 560 TI ? Rush Video Cards 17 March 26, 2011 08:30 PM
Build Question for Radeon Options Surfer_2099 Video Cards 4 September 18, 2009 02:03 PM