Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2011, 01:33 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 88
Default 6990 out of stock for a month now?

So I was planning on having a 6990 in my build and it's been out of stock for months now, you think it could be because of the new 7000 series coming out? And what else do you guys recommend for a high end gpu. Thanks :)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2011, 02:03 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 87
Default

I would imagine the fact that the 7000 series will be out added with the fact that the new GPUs use a smaller manufacturing process would be a reason that you'll most likely see a quicker demise of the 6000 series cards than usual.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2011, 02:06 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 88
Default

What do you recommend I should do then?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2011, 02:10 PM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,192

My System Specs

Default

use your old video card until the new 7000s come out. Or if you don't have one buy a low end card in the interim. Say, a 6750.
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2011, 02:24 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 88
Default

would it be smart to crossfire 2 6970s?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2011, 02:44 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 87
Default

What are the other specs of your desktop??
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2011, 03:20 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 88
Default

well I haven't built it yet. But I have enough money for a
xfx 1000w fully modular psu
an i5 2500k or maybe an i7 3960x
if I go for an i5 i'd get the asus p8z68 mobo and if I get the i7 I'd wait for the new asus rampage ivf
64gb crucial ssd
haf x full tower case
most likely water cooled
not sure about the gpu anymore
500gb seagate hard drive
8gb of vengeance ram
and yeah that's about it
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2011, 04:50 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,262

My System Specs

Default

Those 500 gb .12 seagates are flakey dude. Might wanna go with hitachi instead.
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2011, 05:14 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Kingston Ontario
Posts: 926
Default

Here's one for sale on RFD:

http://forums.redflagdeals.com/ati-a...cards-1112306/
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2011, 05:27 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 88
Default

well are gtx 590s as good?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
6990 sync problems ete Video Cards 0 December 1, 2011 10:46 PM
6870 x2 vs 6990 or gtx590 Pabz0r545 Video Cards 6 October 13, 2011 09:54 AM
GTX 590 vs HD 6990 and explanation of 4-way SLI vs 3-way SLI Linus LinusTechTips Q&A 15 September 29, 2011 02:48 PM
6990's arriving with pricing!! coleo Video Cards 19 March 18, 2011 08:17 PM