Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 7, 2011, 01:46 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 3
Default 2 or 3 gtx580 or 1 gtx590

Ok I know this has been discussed ad nauseum but I just wanted one more "do this" before dropping the cash.
I only play 2 games. BF3 and Eve online. I want to play both across the 3 screens.

I have 3 22" Dell E2209w monitors.
Asus 3x sli mobo (tuff inside, not sure of exact model anymore)
12gigs DDR3 triple channel Ram
i7 960, no overclock
Currently have 2 EVGA GTX285 with builtin physx. (batman edition)

I can run EVE maxed out in window mode across all monitors WITHOUT sli enabled. (this is nice because I dont have to readjust all my monitors and stuff when done gaming.

With SLI enabled and using a single monitor I can max out BF3.
If you SLI across all monitors I get lagzilla in BF3.

So once and for all, if the next greatest game is not my concern and I know this is all I will play and no other hardware will be upgraded before upgrading the whole system, what would you do?

Price is not really a barrier, but im not interested in toileting cash. ;)

Been reading reviews here for years but this is my first post so be gentle.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 7, 2011, 02:34 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,579

My System Specs

Default

Are you still running windowed mode when you are sli'ing across all the monitors? If so, windowed mode severely limits the amount of loading a 2nd or third card gets. This means you're essentially running one card in 3D gaming mode, and the other is either in 2D mode or is being loaded maybe 10%. This can cause quite the problem sometimes.

If this isn't the case, I'd recommend you going with 2 580 3GB as the extra vRam is and will be necessary for 3 monitor gaming (I've been 3 monitor gaming for about a year and a bit, and have run half a dozen configurations). Three cards right now could be overkill, especially if you can wait a few months for it. Aka the 580s will see a price drop whenever Kepler launches. The GTX590 is a good card, though it is slightly hard to find and only sports the standard 1.5GB per gpu on it (aka 3GB), it does not mean it shares/pools the 3GB (a very nice misconception). The GTX 580s will allow you to overclock and get better results, and if you want the extra vRAM version of the cards you can do it, the GTX 590 you're force limited to 1.5GB per gpu.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 7, 2011, 02:38 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 3
Default

thanks for the info.
I tried running BF3 in windowed and fullscreen and both ways lagged like hell.
I was thinking its my monitor configuration. Does it matter what order your monitors are in? when I switch to SLI it sets my monitors as 2-3-1 so I have to drag them around to get 1-2-3.
if I connect my monitors in the order the controller defaults to is that better?
I think Im going to go wtih the 2x580 and maybe toss in a 3rd when the prices drop.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 7, 2011, 02:39 PM
GT7R's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Our universe
Posts: 991

My System Specs

Default

I second that, 2x 580s 3GB.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 7, 2011, 02:43 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,579

My System Specs

Default

It makes absolutely no difference the order of the monitors, its just that your poor 285s just don't have enough juice for the DX11 and graphical load that BF3 has. You're also running out of vRAM on those 285s, as like I said 3 monitor gaming uses a lot of it, as well as very high AA.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 7, 2011, 02:45 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 3
Default

well that settles it. 2x 580 3gbs is what ill do.
I've always been a fan of EVGA stuff. Are they still the place to go? value, support, quality?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 7, 2011, 02:48 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,579

My System Specs

Default

Just to give you an Idea, I am running BF3 on a single monitor (2560 x 1440) on 2 GTX 570 2.5GB cards and BF3 is reporting each of them are using around 1700MB each.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 7, 2011, 07:04 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

Yes Evga is one of the best nv Companies you can buy from....2 x GTX 580 and for heavens sake OC THAT CPU ;)
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 7, 2011, 07:34 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,923
Default

also the PSU don't skimp on the heart of system

since got the cash get yourself a UPS unit that filter and regulates an keep gaming when power goes out

Last edited by KaptCrunch; December 7, 2011 at 07:40 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] GTX580 1536MB JD Buy/Sell & Trade 0 November 26, 2011 10:08 PM
6870 x2 vs 6990 or gtx590 Pabz0r545 Video Cards 6 October 13, 2011 09:54 AM
GTX580 temps? GT7R Video Cards 7 May 25, 2011 12:50 PM
Da big fat GTX590 dual-GF110 in FEB!!! [Nordic Hardware] Delavan Reviews & Articles from the Web 13 February 4, 2011 09:01 AM
[WTB] WTB: 6950 or gtx580 MarcusFoX Buy/Sell & Trade 1 December 31, 2010 09:52 AM