Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2008, 08:34 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 89
Default Onboard Realtek HD + HD 2600XT = missing sound device

Hi all
I've run into a pretty serious problem...The onboard sound (Realtek HD) stops working when the graphics card (Diamond HD2600XT) is in the PCIe slot. Everything works fine when onboard sound is used. I tried a few driver versions, including the latest 8.3 catalysts, nothing helps. When the graphics card is installed Windows (XP MCE) does not even detect ANY audio devices. When the graphics card is removed everything is back to normal and the sound chip is detected as usual. Before installing ATI drivers, Driver Cleaner Pro and Driver Sweeper were run, and I even tried it after a clean Windows install.

Does anyone have any idea of whats going on?

The rest of the system consists of:
E6300, stock
Asus mobo, not a retail one, but made for HP ( P5bw-la I think)
2Gb generic ram
Happauge WinTV150 Tuner
Dlink Wireless adapter (PCI)
LG Combo HD/Bluray drive
Seagate 320 7200.9 HD
Antec 430W PSU

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2008, 09:13 PM
Cheator's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,093
Default

If you mean that your onboard sound is not working, its because when you install the 2600xt it has a built in Realtek HD audio device as well. This is for audio over HDMI. You should just have to change which sound device is the priority one in windows sound properties. Right now its using the HDMI one.
__________________
Optimus: Antec P180, Asus P5Q-E, E8400, 4 GB RAM, Asus 4850, Seagate 320gb, Antec TC II

Teletraan I: Asus P5K-E/WIFI, E4500, 2 GB RAM, ATI 3450, Sapphire Theatrix, 2.25TB storage, Antec SP2 400w

Galvatron: Asus M2NPV-VM, 3800+ X2, 2GB RAM, NV8500GT, Seasonic 500w

Tracks: Acer AS5920, C2D 2.1ghz 45nm, 3GB DDR2, NV8600m GT, 250gb hdd

Hound: Gigabyte GA-MA74GM-S, AMD 4400+ X2, 1 GB RAM, 2900XT, 500w Seasonic

My Heatware!
| Got RMA? Tell us your experience! | VOIP Help? PM ME!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2008, 09:39 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 89
Default

Thanks, but Windows does not detect ANY audio device, even the Radeon on-board.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2008, 10:52 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,144
Default

Have you tried disabling the on-board sound in the BIOS?
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 8, 2008, 02:39 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 89
Default

Thanks MpG, you led me in the right direction. The onboard was set to "Auto" in bios. I just had to change it to enabled. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 8, 2008, 02:59 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,144
Default

No problem, just finished fixing sound problems of my own.

A guy I was talking to at Canada Computers, when I mentioned that I had sound problems, the first thing he asked was whether I had an ATI video card. Common problem, apparently.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 8, 2008, 03:28 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,798

My System Specs

Default

Yeah, the inclusion of sound on the newer HDMI ATI cards has caused a few problems, but it seems to me they've been fairly easy to fix once the cause was found.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 22, 2008, 10:47 PM
Trial Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1
Default realtek lost of sound and control panel ? vs ATI sound card

lost sound !!!!!

REALTEK ON BOARD sound and also ATI sound ON card
with no sound in my speakers.

cpu = hp m7590n media center
mobo asus emery p5lp-le
ati card radeon hd2600 pro

same problem I had after re-installing xp then vista on top
( I had change my sound card prior of doing so )

THEN NO MORE sound at all. after a re-install of 3 days.
)(*)*)(/**&

PROBLEM WAS RESOLVED AFTER READING SOME OF THE COMMENTS IN THIS FORUM.... TKS ( IT GAVE ME AN IDEA ) SO

( PS. NOT EVEN THE TECH SUPPORT LINE @hp AFTER 1 HOUR FOUND A SOLUTION.)

(... that's to be expected )(*)(*&?*% ......:)))

my SOLUTION

BOOT the computer
before it loads GO TO THE BIOS of the MOBO
THEN with TAB key find advance or try and find SOUND option
IF the option is automatic change it
save your changes
exit the bios

let the computer finish the login process

Check if the realtek icon is in the control panel if so I guess U are OK

If not go to hp and download lates driver for UR cpu model pertaining to realtek
drivers,

reboot
.
You can also check in devise manager SOUND option
open up the + sing in sound option
the realtek high defenition sound should be there!

reboot ...and check again

Hope this will help you, because I got the idea from this forum.

phil...(pls leave feedback if U resolved the same problem I had )
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2008, 06:02 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,839
Default

Thanks for the update Phil.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2008, 08:01 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,798

My System Specs

Default

Something else along these lines that's come up for me a couple of times is the requirement to use any ATI card's driver disk first rather than going for the latest drivers from ATI's website.

Maybe it's just me, but the drivers for the HD sound on ATI cards doesn't seem to install along with the Catylist (sp?) drivers leaving the dreaded "unknown device" warning in device manager. (It's been a month or so since I checked, but I also couldn't find a stand-alone driver on the ATI site for HD Audio from their cards).

Once the shipped drivers are installed, the latest drivers are fine
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Audigy 2 value or DS3L onboard audio? donimo Audio 17 January 16, 2009 05:19 PM
Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Audio is not really a X-FI sound card dirtfarmer Audio 15 January 2, 2008 08:15 PM
Repeditive error A USB device has malfunctioned eggokio Troubleshooting 2 January 2, 2008 04:58 AM
Rear Channel on Realtek HD? sswilson Audio 8 July 25, 2007 02:07 PM
missing wire ? Jim Troubleshooting 5 May 31, 2007 06:02 PM