Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 6, 2011, 08:59 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: London, Ontario
Posts: 24
Default HD 6950 2gb crossfire with 1gb?

Hello everyone,

I recently got a XFX HD 6950 2GB, i was thinking about Crossfire when i have the money.
What difference would it make when i crossfire it with a HD 6950 1GB vs a 2GB ?

performance wise or will it only affect resolution?

thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 6, 2011, 09:08 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,579

My System Specs

Default

It will cause the 2GB card to use only 1GB instead, due to how crossfire and sli work.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 6, 2011, 09:54 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: London, Ontario
Posts: 24
Default

thats what i thought, but the performance will still be better if i play at lower resolution right?
the 2GB will get bottleneck by the 1Gb if i play games at a higher resolution.

for example battlefield 3
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 6, 2011, 10:01 AM
Jebusman's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia
Posts: 358

My System Specs

Default

Yeah for the most part it'll only really start to bottleneck at higher resolutions and/or high levels of AA.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 6, 2011, 10:07 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,579

My System Specs

Default

Also depends on what is in the rest of your system too, if you're running an older 775 you may hit a bottleneck on higher resolutions or high AA either way.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 6, 2011, 10:50 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: London, Ontario
Posts: 24
Default

will be running a i7 920 co stepping
thanks for the help =D

i will post my system specs when i get everything together and up and running.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 6, 2011, 06:36 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 427

My System Specs

Default

You would be better off getting another 2gb card, and do make sure you are running triple channel so you are less likely to be running into lack of memory/memory bottlenecks :)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 6, 2011, 08:36 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: London, Ontario
Posts: 24
Default

thats probably what i`ll end up doing, getting another 2gb when i have the cash
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 6, 2011, 08:40 PM
Phill's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Morden MB
Posts: 583

My System Specs

Default

For sure, if you must get another card make sure it is a 2GB card!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 6, 2011, 09:32 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: laval Qc
Posts: 1,072
Default

get a 2gb card
crossfire performance is much better
__________________
maximus IV extreme @ 5.1 1.41v

evga e760 +920 4.8 water5.0+ on phase linx stable
gtx285 tri-sli
dfi ut-p35 lt
e8600@4.6 1.38v
too much ram
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FS] XFX 6950 2GB stuck at 500mhz, selling it cheaper, sold mckchun Buy/Sell & Trade 11 December 21, 2011 05:02 AM
6950 2gb crossfire Mistertuxedopants Video Cards 15 September 29, 2011 12:31 PM
Sapphire Launches Radeon HD 6950 TOXIC Edition, Fastest HD 6950 Yet Sam_Reynolds Press Releases & Tech News 2 August 5, 2011 02:25 PM
6950 crossfire 16x/x4 bad? bcall12 Video Cards 8 August 1, 2011 05:40 PM
6950 Crossfire 1gb tianfeng Video Cards 2 July 2, 2011 01:10 AM