Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 28, 2011, 03:03 AM
Prolab's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 485

My System Specs

Default Tri-Fire 6970's

Well, for the past month or so ive been toying getting another 6970 (or unlocked 6950's) since i do plan on gaming on a high res screen.

At the moment, its cheaper for me to get another 6970 + another 24" monitor (3 x 24" monitor) in the next month or so.

Ive been playing BF3 on Ultra settings and im avg about 46+ FPS (1920 x 1080 - according to Fraps). Now, i know for a fact if i add another monitor, my FPS will dip down.

Now, would i see a boost in FPS by adding another 6970? Reading this article - makes me think so:

Eyefinity Examined with Sapphire HD 6970 x4 and Core i7 3960X :: TweakTown USA Edition

XFX Radeon 6970 and Radeon 6950 Graphics Card Review - 3-Way CrossFire / Eyefinity vs SLI


And if i do end up tri-firing 6970's... i have a feeling my CPU will be my bottleneck at this point.

Any thoughts?
__________________
Gaming Rig:
-Swiffy MCP35x X2, (2) Aphacool UT60 480 rad, Heatkiller rev. 3.0, i7 3930k @ 4.6 Ghz, 16 GB G.SKILL F3, Asus Rampage IV Extreme, XFX R9 290 w/ XPSC WB, Crucial M4 128GB & 240 GB Intel 530, (5) 3 TB Toshiba Drive, Corsair AX1200, Win 7 Ult 64-bit

HTPC Rig:
-G3258 @ Stock, Asrock Z97 Pro 4, Gigabyte 270x, 500 GB WD Black, (5) 2 TB WD Green, (1) 3 TB Toshiba HD, (1) 2 TB Samsung F4, Fractal Design R3, Corsair HX620 PS, Win 7 Ult 64-bit

Last edited by Prolab; November 28, 2011 at 03:19 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 28, 2011, 04:44 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,589

My System Specs

Default

I believe you could be running into a bottleneck already with your processor and BF3. BF3 seems to be a rather tasking program for most computers these days on ultra settings. The only reason I say this is that the fact that on my own system set up, when I was running 6970s (on a i7 920 @ 3.8GHz) I was getting better frames then you are and I was running eyefinity (not 1 monitor gaming as you are). That said, I believe you would completely run into a bottleneck running tri-fire, with your setup anyways. The only system that really shines when it comes to tri or quad card gaming is the new x79 platform as it just has that much more bandwidth compared to even the previous best contender for tri or quad card gaming (which was the 1366 platform, or a system with an NF200 chip).

Another thing to mention is as amazing as eyefinity/surround is, it seems A LOT of games don't have full or proper support for it. If you are mainly interested in flight sims and racing games then it seems 99% of those games work right out of the get go on 3 or more monitor gaming. FPS, RPGS, RTS, now that is an entirely different story. Quite a few games won't have native support and will require either a patch later on, fooling around with the ini file, or is just plain partially broken. One such example would be in BF3, where you get no indication of who is on your team as all the info was stuck on the far left monitor. Another thing a lot of games that even support eyefinity/surround is the UI, a lot of the time its stretched or expanded out to cover the three screens, this can be a good or a bad thing. A lot of the time you lose some important information (Dragon Age II all your and party health is in far left monitor, making you have to glance over away from the action quite a bit if you're playing it on harder difficulties). Now this was at release, I've heard its better now but it still isn't perfect. Be prepared if you go eyefinity/surround to play quite a few games on your centre monitor only at times.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 28, 2011, 11:13 PM
Prolab's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 485

My System Specs

Default

Im starting to think so as well. I can only OC my BE 965 up to a certain point (which is stuck to 3.9Ghz) and can't go past that. I may as well go upgrade to Ivy Bridge when it comes out and start from scratch there.

Im sure i will see a jump in performance rather than be stuck with BD.

I'll put the upgrade on hold for now and wait till i upgrade to IB. Thanks.
__________________
Gaming Rig:
-Swiffy MCP35x X2, (2) Aphacool UT60 480 rad, Heatkiller rev. 3.0, i7 3930k @ 4.6 Ghz, 16 GB G.SKILL F3, Asus Rampage IV Extreme, XFX R9 290 w/ XPSC WB, Crucial M4 128GB & 240 GB Intel 530, (5) 3 TB Toshiba Drive, Corsair AX1200, Win 7 Ult 64-bit

HTPC Rig:
-G3258 @ Stock, Asrock Z97 Pro 4, Gigabyte 270x, 500 GB WD Black, (5) 2 TB WD Green, (1) 3 TB Toshiba HD, (1) 2 TB Samsung F4, Fractal Design R3, Corsair HX620 PS, Win 7 Ult 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 29, 2011, 04:39 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,589

My System Specs

Default

I believe right now anyways, that x79 (SB-E) is the only platform where tri card setups really flourish. They may bring this to Ivy, though I'm highly doubting that as the architecture isn't going to change, just some new cpus. Meaning x79 will still reign champion for performance in tri card gaming until probably a new architecture comes out in a few years.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
can't start a fire gingerbee Off Topic 8 February 15, 2010 10:09 AM
Kelowna fire take II 3 of 7 Off Topic 21 July 20, 2009 11:17 PM
tri-sli/fire peoples? lowfat Video Cards 4 June 5, 2009 12:08 AM
HCF X-Fire Clan wants you.... Supergrover Gaming 2 December 10, 2008 05:18 PM
??? to X-Fire or not to X-Fire ??? Para_Franck Video Cards 3 April 24, 2008 05:48 PM