Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 22, 2011, 08:17 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 32
Default graphics card for new build

hello i was just wondering which card would be better, im going to be doinme gaming such as bf3, mw3, all the crysis series and other high end games i want to be able to play them at high details and was wondering a single msi gtx560 ti twin frozr ii oc for $255 or two Gigabyte GTX550 OC 550TI $145 each, i will only be using one card atm due to my motherboared not being able to suport sli but will upgrade very soon please tell me what you think and what size psu i will need ? this will be ina computer witha 15 2500k and a few hardrives on a z68 gigabyte boared.

thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 22, 2011, 09:56 PM
dandelioneater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 1,114

My System Specs

Default

I would say get the 560ti over the 550's. Alternatively you could even get a single 580.

PSU? Corsair AX850, Antec High Current Pro, Seasonic x850, Silverstone Strider
Any one of these psu's would do the job.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 23, 2011, 12:26 AM
GT7R's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Our universe
Posts: 991

My System Specs

Default

Well for a single 580 or less, a good 650W will do. What resolution do you use currently, or plan to in the near future? It is important when comes to GPU choices.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 23, 2011, 06:40 AM
KrUsHeR's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Regina, SK
Posts: 13

My System Specs

Default

If you are willing to buy 2 550's at $145, why not try and catch a 570 on sale during the black friday sales? If not, the 560Ti is the way to go. Just put together a build for a friend using the Twin Frozr II 560Ti and a 2500K and he is playing BF3 on high/ultra setting just fine. Note: I put a 600W power supply in his system.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 23, 2011, 08:14 AM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 3,119

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KrUsHeR View Post
If you are willing to buy 2 550's at $145, why not try and catch a 570 on sale during the black friday sales? If not, the 560Ti is the way to go. Just put together a build for a friend using the Twin Frozr II 560Ti and a 2500K and he is playing BF3 on high/ultra setting just fine.
Seconded. 560Ti, but if you can swing it I say 570 (watch for a sale). For the PSU any quality 650w will be fine. If you want to be able to SLI 560Ti in the future I say 750w or for SLI 570/580 850w
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, HD 6950(unlocked shaders and OC'd), Bitfenix Fury 750w, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 23, 2011, 10:10 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,483

My System Specs

Default

570 and up can run bf3 on high settings (not ultra) 16x10 or 16x9 60-100fps. Anything below that you'll get frame drop during intensive moments during the game. Like multiple tanks blowing up or a jet landing on your forhead and exploding. Keep in mind and believe me when I say this because I've said the exact same thing as you a half dozen times.

"I'm gonna sli within the next year" You better be comitted to doing it in the next 9 months or right now. Everytime I've hit the 12 month mark the card I bought with the intention of sli or crossfire is impossible to find or I'm havin to over pay for a used card with no idea whether that used card is in good condition. You'd be better off getting a single card that can run everything on high and HOPE you can find another one down the road.

You normally have about a 9-12 month window before the card makers bring out the next latest and greatest.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 23, 2011, 11:16 AM
yycraven's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Martensville,SK
Posts: 937

My System Specs

Default

Go for the GTX 560Ti and Corsair AX850. Don't buy a GTX 550Ti. Now Like a few people said, see what the deals are on Black Friday and maybe get a GTX 570 for a good price.
__________________
ASRock Extreme 3,2500K,NH-D14,Patriot G2 16GB ,WD 750GB,640GB Sata , GTX 680, Thermaltake toughpower XT850W,Tech Station. V243H, LCD
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 23, 2011, 01:06 PM
KrUsHeR's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Regina, SK
Posts: 13

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yycraven View Post
Go for the GTX 560Ti and Corsair AX850.
I think the 850W power supply for the 560Ti is a little much... A quality 750W power supply would be more than enough for SLI 560Ti's.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old November 23, 2011, 01:16 PM
KrUsHeR's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Regina, SK
Posts: 13

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clshades View Post
570 and up can run bf3 on high settings (not ultra) 16x10 or 16x9 60-100fps. Anything below that you'll get frame drop during intensive moments during the game. Like multiple tanks blowing up or a jet landing on your forhead and exploding.
My 570 runs BF3 with everything on Ultra (1920x1080 resolution) and does not drop below 50fps at any time during gameplay. So I think a 580 would surely be able to run it with all settings on ultra as well.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old November 23, 2011, 05:10 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,483

My System Specs

Default

What are you using to track fps? There is an ingame command for bf3 which I prefer over fraps. For FPS games you really don't wanna be below 60fps which is the frequency of most LCD LED monitors. High frequency monitors like the 120hz you really wanna try and be faster or match it. This dates back to crt monitors and the many different frequency rates CRT's used to come with. I know a little bit about this stuff as I used to be a competative FPS gamer.

Now I doubt the webpage that was written to describe the very dry explanation of how and why this works is still around. Thus I cannot back up anything that I'm saying so you are welcome to call bullshit I will not be offended.

60fps is as low as you wanna be on an LCD monitor. This does affect hit registration and other movement physics. You are losing head to head gun fights vs 60fps+ players. This is testable btw and easier to do while lanning.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is graphics card X more or less powerful than graphics card Y Linus LinusTechTips Q&A 1 October 4, 2011 06:50 AM
Intel HD Graphics with Graphics Card MoUnit CPU's and Motherboards 4 August 6, 2011 04:54 PM
In need of a Graphics Card vergil1205 Video Cards 11 May 21, 2011 07:39 AM
AMD Extends Graphics Performance Lead, Launches World's Fastest Graphics Card? Again! FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 2 March 8, 2011 03:32 PM
What graphics card? Farmrush New Builds 17 September 14, 2009 09:12 PM