Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old November 13, 2011, 01:27 PM
Jim's Avatar
Jim Jim is offline
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: an hour out of Calgary
Posts: 405
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rjbarker View Post
^^^ 1080 is not a killer demanding res guys..any single high end GPU should be able to handle BF3 fine by simply turning MSAA down from x4 to x2.

1920 x 1200, 2560x1440/1600 is going to require some more "poop" ;)
guess I could always try one,seems newegg gives 30 day and full refund,hmm ,hate those momentary lag dips
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old November 13, 2011, 01:27 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Hamilton, Ontario
Posts: 181
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Flintblade View Post
http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/...ce,3063-3.html

http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/...ce,3063-8.html

BF3 runs better on any ATI card. A gtx 580 is not better than a 6970 in this game.
Oc the 6970s and it's no contest. Don't go oc for oc. Go stock for stock and ati wins. I'm not a fanboy and understand that the gtx 580/590 are better cards overall. But for some reason, BF3 favors ATI this round.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old November 13, 2011, 01:27 PM
yycraven's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Martensville,SK
Posts: 937

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rjbarker View Post
^^^ 1080 is not a killer demanding res guys..any single high end GPU should be able to handle BF3 fine by simply turning MSAA down from x4 to x2.

1920 x 1200, 2560x1440/1600 is going to require some more "poop" ;)


well that's what I am trying to say, his res is up to 1080p so this 6970 2GB card here alone should run BF3 at 60FPS and up no no problem same with a GTX 580 card.
Linus did a FPS on his video on a few cards and the 6970 and GTX 580 did well. now were under 60FPS.
__________________
ASRock Extreme 3,2500K,NH-D14,Patriot G2 16GB ,WD 750GB,640GB Sata , GTX 680, Thermaltake toughpower XT850W,Tech Station. V243H, LCD
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old November 13, 2011, 01:28 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Hamilton, Ontario
Posts: 181
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yycraven View Post
well that's what I am trying to say, his res is up to 1080p so this 6970 2GB card here alone should run BF3 at 60FPS and up no no problem same with a GTX 580 card.
Linus did a FPS on his video on a few cards and the 6970 and GTX 580 did well. now were under 60FPS.
It may not get 60fps at ultra with msaa. But even 44fps as shown at tomshardware is definitely fine for gaming.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old November 13, 2011, 01:29 PM
Jim's Avatar
Jim Jim is offline
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: an hour out of Calgary
Posts: 405
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Flintblade View Post
A single 6970 will run the game on ultra settings. If you want, a 6990 will get higher fps.

An extra amount is the 6970 will get 44 while the 6990 will get 80 fps.

http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/...e,3063-12.html

Mind you I'm talking about 1080p. Even a single gtx 580 will run the game. 1080p isn't a high res, it's basically standard these days and doesn't require the best solution to max out games.
sorry been out of pc gaming for about 3 years ,stuff has changed for sure

Quote:
Originally Posted by Flintblade View Post
It may not get 60fps at ultra with msaa. But even 44fps as shown at tomshardware is definitely fine for gaming.
you guys got me thinkin out it

Quote:
Originally Posted by yycraven View Post
well that's what I am trying to say, his res is up to 1080p so this 6970 2GB card here alone should run BF3 at 60FPS and up no no problem same with a GTX 580 card.
Linus did a FPS on his video on a few cards and the 6970 and GTX 580 did well. now were under 60FPS.
hmm , informative (bites nail,indecision)

Last edited by Arinoth; November 13, 2011 at 01:59 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old November 13, 2011, 01:33 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Hamilton, Ontario
Posts: 181
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim View Post
hmm , informative (bites nail,indecision)
It's simple, if buying to play BF3 go ATI. If you're buying for overall performance, go nvidia.

Either a 6970 or a gtx 580 will run this game at ultra settings. No need to spend $700+. If anything, save that extra money and buy a better monitor.

6990s/gtx 590s and sli/crossfire solutions are meant for single monitors with resolutions of 2560x1600 or triple monitor setups with huge resolutions. You need a powerhouse for 1080p. I'd get the cheapest 6950/6970 or gtx570/580 and buy either 3 monitors or a really nice monitor. Then add a second card in the future when you get more cash.

But for one single 1080p. Go 6970 for cheapness or gtx 580 for overall performance(other than just bf3).
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old November 13, 2011, 01:38 PM
yycraven's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Martensville,SK
Posts: 937

My System Specs

Default

these are at 2560 at 1600, so with your settings you should be fine.

Links removed, [H] is now allowed to be linked
__________________
ASRock Extreme 3,2500K,NH-D14,Patriot G2 16GB ,WD 750GB,640GB Sata , GTX 680, Thermaltake toughpower XT850W,Tech Station. V243H, LCD
heatware

Last edited by Arinoth; November 13, 2011 at 02:01 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old November 13, 2011, 01:43 PM
Jim's Avatar
Jim Jim is offline
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: an hour out of Calgary
Posts: 405
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Flintblade View Post
It's simple, if buying to play BF3 go ATI. If you're buying for overall performance, go nvidia.

Either a 6970 or a gtx 580 will run this game at ultra settings. No need to spend $700+. If anything, save that extra money and buy a better monitor.

6990s/gtx 590s and sli/crossfire solutions are meant for single monitors with resolutions of 2560x1600 or triple monitor setups with huge resolutions. You need a powerhouse for 1080p. I'd get the cheapest 6950/6970 or gtx570/580 and buy either 3 monitors or a really nice monitor. Then add a second card in the future when you get more cash.

But for one single 1080p. Go 6970 for cheapness or gtx 580 for overall performance(other than just bf3).
wow great info,6970's ,Eyefinity is the next thing alright

Quote:
Originally Posted by yycraven View Post
these are at 2560 at 1600, so with your settings you should be fine.

Illegal Links removed

you guys rock! smart and helpful

so how well would one 6970 run 3 monitors ? cause I could afford 2 more right now ?

Last edited by Arinoth; November 13, 2011 at 02:00 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old November 13, 2011, 01:48 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
these are at 2560 at 1600, so with your settings you should be fine.
Links removed
Those numbers jive with my 580 SLi running 2560 x 1440 !!
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.

Last edited by Arinoth; November 13, 2011 at 02:01 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old November 13, 2011, 01:49 PM
Jim's Avatar
Jim Jim is offline
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: an hour out of Calgary
Posts: 405
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rjbarker View Post
Those numbers jive with my 580 SLi running 2560 x 1440 !!

right saw that
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stimulus Plan Eldonko Off Topic 40 January 29, 2009 12:15 AM
Here is the Plan Soultribunal Water Cooling 53 December 12, 2008 01:44 PM
plan to get another router CTA Networking 10 November 5, 2008 04:05 PM
Trying to plan a WC build Iamcanadian7 Water Cooling 1 September 9, 2008 09:24 PM
BF : BC Anyone here plan to get it ebdoradz Gaming 8 June 12, 2008 09:55 PM