Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 3, 2011, 11:06 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 8
Default best bang for my bucks

what would everyone recomend for bf3 i already have
intel q6600 cpu
2x2gb ddr 2 800
gigabyte p45 chipset motherboard
2x74gb raptors in raid
2 320gb wds in raid
ati 4890 1gb


as you can tell ive been out of the loop for a while waiting for bf3 so i think i just need to upgrade my gpu right???
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 3, 2011, 11:14 AM
dandelioneater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 1,114

My System Specs

Default

maybe get a gtx 560 ti, Overclock that q6600 a bit and you should be good to go.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 3, 2011, 11:51 AM
Pabz0r545's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 1,301

My System Specs

Default

Check this out. Hope this helps!

http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/...ance,3042.html
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 3, 2011, 12:28 PM
mchutch's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: NW Ontario
Posts: 433

My System Specs

Default

To be honest, you have a high end Dx11 GPU, albeit 2 gens older, but to get more power you'd need probly an SLi or Xfire setup of 2 mid-range cards. You could upgrade your whole setup if your looking to play BF3 maxed out, it's a hog.
If your mobo can handle dual cards I'd go;

AMD: 2x 5770/5850s or a single 5870/6950 2GB

Nvidia: 2x GTX 460/560 or a single GTX 470/570

Of course a nice used HD 5870 or GTX 470 on HWC would be good value for preformance.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 3, 2011, 02:36 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 8
Default

guess thats alot to think about thanks guys
whats in ur gpu?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 3, 2011, 06:26 PM
Meta|Gear's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 62
Default

I wouldn't upgrade your whole pc, I did (mostly for bf3) and now I regret it.

If anything look into o/c'in that cpu and maybe pick up a 560 ti or 570
__________________
RFD

Intel i5 2500K | Corsair H50 | Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3H | 8GB G.Skill Sniper 1600Mhz | R9 270X | Antec Gamer 900W
Kingston 64GB V100 - WD Black 500GB - WD Green 1.5TB | CM HAF 922 | Asus VW246H
| Logitech G15 v2 | Logitech G9x
| Logitech G930
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 4, 2011, 11:22 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Alliston, ON
Posts: 75
Default

I have a similar setup as yours

Q6600 @ 3.0ghz
2x2gb ram
and recenetly upgraded from a 4870 512mb to a 6950 2gb.

I play at 1920 x 1080 and have left the in game settings on auto for now. This has defaulted most of the settings to high with some AA and AF on. The game looks amazing and plays smoothly though I haven't bothered to run Fraps yet ( I find that 35-50fps looks great until you know your running 35-50fps). Looking at the benchmarks for this game it appears that my CPU is adequate and that my video card is keeping me a float. If I had my old card I would be barely able to play. I would suggest checking the benchmarks and buying a good card. Perhaps a 570 and you can SLi it later or a 6950 and x-fire it down the road, either way it will get you into Bf3 and having fun. It appears that the nVidia cards are performing better in BF3 for now but who knows with new drivers.
__________________
DFI LanParty Dark X38 | Q6600 @3.0 | Mushkin 2x2gb| 6950 2GB | Audigy 2
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SSD for under a hundred bucks? DRYJESUS Storage 17 January 6, 2011 04:15 PM
[FS] 12 car sub + ported box - 80 bucks kyle_L Buy/Sell & Trade 4 June 22, 2009 05:33 PM