Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 26, 2011, 07:37 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,680
Default The Effect of GPU Memory on Surround & Stereo 3D Performance (Comment Thread)

While many modern games don't allow high end graphics cards to really stretch their legs, multi monitor configurations and stereoscopic 3D tend to push even bleeding edge GPUs to their breaking point. Many have argued that a higher amount of memory bandwidth could unlock additional performance in these situations and we're about to put this claim to the test. In this article, we take a look at GTX 580 and GTX 570 cards with custom memory configurations to see if they can provide higher framerates in some of the most demanding setups available.

Read more here: The Effect of GPU Memory on Surround & Stereo 3D Performance
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 26, 2011, 08:29 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,537

My System Specs

Default

I'd like to see the results for BF3, in surround I'm sure the 3GB 580's will shine.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 26, 2011, 09:26 PM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,248

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by supaflyx3 View Post
I'd like to see the results for BF3, in surround I'm sure the 3GB 580's will shine.
Agreed I would like to see some BF3 numbers just for S**ts and giggles. One question why do you never include peak vram usage for a benchmark? Especially with something like this that is a xgb vrs xgb article.
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 27, 2011, 12:49 AM
bradleyg5's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 60
Default

So basically since you turn AA off with 3d it's actually more worthwhile if you are going straight up multidisplay because you'll still be able to enable AA which is when the memory is really pushed.

I disagree with having tessellation on for a test like this, I thought the whole point of tessellation was to give more advanced geometry without using more memory. it's just going to cause a bottleneck on the GPU core before you can see the difference. I suspect there would be a more distinct difference in the 3d results with it off. specifically the Metro 2033 result is suspect, metro has terribly inefficient tessellation implementation and I doubt anybody would leave it on for the massive drop in frame rates incurred.

BF3 deferred AA crushes my 1GB GTX 460s I bet we'd see similar results where with 3d the increased memory doesn't make a difference but with multidisplay and AA 4x the 3GB show a noticeable leg up.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 27, 2011, 05:40 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,680
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Supergrover View Post
One question why do you never include peak vram usage for a benchmark?
I'll add it tonight if I have the time.

However, I was under the impression that the results spoke for themselves regarding approximately how much memory is needed.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 27, 2011, 05:57 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,591

My System Specs

Default

I've read a few different articles, stating that Uber sampling in Witcher 2 usually makes the image look not as crisp as it would on just ultra. It has something to do with the way it over samples and causes things that would normally be crisp and definite to look a bit more blurry.

It's a great review, wish this was out back when I made my own 2 card upgrade, hopefully others will be able to find this helpful. You know now that you started this there are some (like myself) who will hope to see this done (hopefully early on) when kepler and (maybe) HD7000 come out with their high end cards (provided you get enough from manufacturers to do it)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 27, 2011, 06:26 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,680
Default

This article took me months of testing and retesting, especially since many of the games had new patches rolled out which vastly improved performance.

In the case of The Witcher 2, it was the opposite though. V2.0 has destroyed stereo 3D performance in some scenes.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 27, 2011, 09:55 AM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,248

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
I'll add it tonight if I have the time.

However, I was under the impression that the results spoke for themselves regarding approximately how much memory is needed.
Thanks for adding it Sky.
Though I was meaning in a general term, we never seam to be given this number in reviews/benchmarks and it would be nice to know when x amount of ram starts to bottleneck or not a card. For the longest time it seams we were not pushing the vram levels in gfc card but nowadays it seams this is becoming more of a factor.
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 27, 2011, 06:33 PM
Phill's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Morden MB
Posts: 592

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Supergrover View Post
For the longest time it seams we were not pushing the vram levels in gfc card but nowadays it seams this is becoming more of a factor.
Tis true. Playing BF3 at 2560X1440 with 570 SLI I am forced to turn down settings bc the frame buffer appears to be saturated... or at least that is what I think is happening. Feels like I need more vram but I am not sure.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 27, 2011, 06:41 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,680
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phill View Post
Tis true. Playing BF3 at 2560X1440 with 570 SLI I am forced to turn down settings bc the frame buffer appears to be saturated... or at least that is what I think is happening. Feels like I need more vram but I am not sure.
I can confirm. BF3 @ 2560 x 1600 on Rock and a Hard place (the most demanding mission I found) pegged at 1.28GB without MSAA enabled.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Comment Thread for The Future of Stereo 3D Part 1 &2 SKYMTL Display Units 45 October 23, 2009 06:01 AM
[FS] Zoom H2 Stereo/Surround sound recorder (96khz 24 bit) Bojamijams Buy/Sell & Trade 1 March 3, 2009 09:27 AM
The Games of Christmas '08 GPU Performance Comment Thread SKYMTL Video Cards 33 December 12, 2008 06:39 PM
Far Cry 2 Hardware Performance Review Comment Thread FiXT Gaming 21 November 30, 2008 08:09 PM