Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old October 24, 2011, 04:37 AM
Rookie

Default GTX560 Ti on my old PC. Questions

Ok so first of all I just want to say that my knowledge about computers is not very good so I'm a newbie when it comes to fitting new parts into my PC.

Now, lets get to the point.

I bought "Asus nVIDIA 3D GeForce GTX 560 TI DirectCu II TOP Graphics Card (1GB)" and I want to put it in my current PC which is quite old.

My PC:
Intel Core 2 Quad Q8300 2.5Ghz
4GB RAM
My current video card is GeForce GT240.
I have
"OCZ 600W StealthXStream 2 ATX Power Supply Unit".

Now my question is....Will my new video card (GTX 560Ti) work with my current PC?

I will be upgarding parts later on but I just want to know if it will work for now and if it will give me any performace boost compared to my old card (GT 240).

Also without buying whole new PC which parts should I upgrade so I can run latest games?
I know I'll probably have to get new processor, motherboard and I'll upgrade my RAM.
Is there anything else that I need to upgrade so that all the parts will work together nicely?

Oh and which motherboard, processor and RAM will be the best to buy for me?

I know there's a lot of questions but I really need your help guys!

Thanks
Old October 24, 2011, 05:08 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H

My System Specs

Assuming your motherboard has an available PCI-E slot (which it should since you had a GT 240 in there before) and there's room next to it in your case, everything should be fine. Your PSU should be more than good enough have the right connectors for the card as well. (although you won't find much love for OCZ units around here)

You don't necessarily need a new processor, despite being one of the slower quad cores the Q8300 shouldn't be a major bottleneck for a 560Ti. (though it will be holding back the graphics card to a certain measurable extent) If you have a decent motherboard, I would just overclock your processor.