Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 20, 2011, 06:35 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 56

My System Specs

Default EVGA gtx 560 ti benchmark result. Come see this.

Hey guys! so i just did the heaven 2.5 benchmarking and i think the score is pretty low.

I just build this PC.



Note:

When i check the cpu using cpu-z, i noticed that the cpu core is only 1600mhz not 3.3.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 20, 2011, 07:03 AM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,065

My System Specs

Default

I find synthetic benchmarks are all find and dandy but don't really reflect on real world scenerios as much as they could.

Looks fine for what you have as a system, If I get time I'll run it on my X6 with 580 and you'll see its not really that much higher yet I can play anything 1920X1080 MAX settings.

As for CPU-z showing a slower speed, that might be your processor being in a power saving mode while idling. Run Prime95 and it should ramp up to full speed.

-ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 20, 2011, 07:17 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 56

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soultribunal View Post
I find synthetic benchmarks are all find and dandy but don't really reflect on real world scenerios as much as they could.

Looks fine for what you have as a system, If I get time I'll run it on my X6 with 580 and you'll see its not really that much higher yet I can play anything 1920X1080 MAX settings.

As for CPU-z showing a slower speed, that might be your processor being in a power saving mode while idling. Run Prime95 and it should ramp up to full speed.

-ST
About the CPU core speed. Should i use a program just to use the full 3.30ghz of intel i5 2500k? I dont want to overclock my cpu yet, since im a new gaming pc builder, i need to study more about that.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 20, 2011, 07:35 AM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,039

My System Specs

Default

It shows the slower speed because it's in power saving mode. It'll show full speed when it needs to.

Overclocking that 2500K is easy. Change your multiplier up until your computer doesn't work right, then back it down 1 or 2 settings of the multiplier then test.

That alone could give you 4ghz overclock, without touching the voltage... depending on your particular cpu that is.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 20, 2011, 07:44 AM
yycraven's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Martensville,SK
Posts: 937

My System Specs

Default

That power saving is in your BIOS, if you go in there and disable it. You should see your CPU stay at 3.3.
__________________
ASRock Extreme 3,2500K,NH-D14,Patriot G2 16GB ,WD 750GB,640GB Sata ,2 GTX 470 SLi Thermaltake toughpower XT850W,Tech Station. V243H,2253LW LCD
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 20, 2011, 07:54 AM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,065

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by feubarkada View Post
About the CPU core speed. Should i use a program just to use the full 3.30ghz of intel i5 2500k? I dont want to overclock my cpu yet, since im a new gaming pc builder, i need to study more about that.
You can if you want to just see it ramp up, but rest assured it is most likely in power savings which is why it looks like its at half speed. Only when you require it will it spool up to full speed.

-ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 20, 2011, 07:57 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 56

My System Specs

Default

ahh.. ok now i get it. thanks for the feedback guys.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 22, 2011, 06:43 AM
Skyllz's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 748

My System Specs

Default

You got me curious, I had not run mine in a while.

I think yours is a little low indeed, here is my OC'ed 460gtx 768mb.


__________________
Is smoke supposed to come out of there?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 22, 2011, 08:32 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,934
Default

not same cards so the piss contest ends

just 300 more ram difference
Attached Images
 

Last edited by KaptCrunch; October 22, 2011 at 08:39 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 22, 2011, 09:58 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,348

My System Specs

Default

here is my older card
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
F@H Results Page Updated - New Key Result On Alzheimers Published LCB001 HardwareCanucks F@H Team 4 August 7, 2011 08:22 AM
Paper#72: Major New Result From F@H: Simulation Of The Millisecond Timescale LCB001 HardwareCanucks F@H Team 2 January 18, 2010 01:25 PM
1st Benchmark Result icodeit Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 6 November 23, 2008 06:02 AM
Strange result with HD tune and HDtech? TopDogZero Storage 4 November 13, 2008 04:50 PM
Weird result from AC Accelero S1 install donimo Video Cards 24 November 3, 2007 08:46 PM