Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 5, 2011, 04:32 AM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,999

My System Specs

Default Asus 6970 direct cu2 - crossfire troubles

Hey all. Got a second asus 6970 direct cu2 and I'm having the seemingly inevitable crossfire issue:
Only one card ( whichever is the top/primary one) is getting load.

Current config - Stygian ( real pics coming):
Crosshair IV formula.
1090T @ 4Ghz
latest drivers - 11.8 with latest cap as well

one thing I've noticed :

(assuming the pic works)
my two cards don't appear to be exactly the same. in the pic above the upper card ( which is the new one) seems to have a bigger heatsink but both cards are "revision 1.0". Strange.

What should I do? already tried swapping cards, reinstalling drivers , etc.

Thanks in advance all.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 5, 2011, 05:02 AM
Keltron 3030's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Mt. Pearl, Newfoundland
Posts: 621

My System Specs

Default

I'd like to know this as well, as the same thing happens with my x-fire 4890's
__________________
FFFFFFFUUUUUUUUUUUU-
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 5, 2011, 06:06 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,589

My System Specs

Default

Have you made sure to have crossfire enabled? I know when i upgraded to the 11.10 drivers it disabled crossfire. I had to uninstall and reinstall the drivers for crossfire to be re-enabled.

Also, is this happening on all games or say like BF3? Games in windowed mode (even maximized) will never load the second card properly due to a windows issue.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 5, 2011, 07:07 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,651
Default

Were the drivers uninstalled before installing the second card?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 5, 2011, 08:54 AM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,999

My System Specs

Default

This occurs in both windowed and full screen gaming - any game and the unigine heaven benchmark.
crossfire seems to be enabled in the vision control center.
At first I just installed rhetorically second card and assumed it would work - I've done this in the pas and it always worked. windows eojld detect and install the driver itself then crossfire would be enabled by default..
To test the issue I uninstalled the drivers. pulled the older card ( bottom one in he picture and then reinstalled the drivers with just the new one. I then shut down, put the old one back in the lower slot and tried again - no difference.

tonight ill verify the bios version of both cards - perhaps rhetorically old one needs a flash.

I still think it won't work though. something about the heatsink being different tells me the pcb is different as well.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 5, 2011, 10:07 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,651
Default

Why would the BIOS or PCB matter? I have Crossfired plenty of different AMD cards both reference and non reference without an issue....well, they're AMD drivers so complete functionality is NEVER a sure thing.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 5, 2011, 10:13 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,589

My System Specs

Default

It definitely sounds more like a driver issue then the cards itself. Try completely uninstalling the drivers and try out 11.9 or 11.10, make sure to uninstall CAP too
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 5, 2011, 10:18 AM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,248

My System Specs

Default

I have the same Meta, my first dcii is slightly different from the seconds heatsink.
Couple of things to try.
Install with only the bottom card, clean driver install, shutdown, install the top card.
Are you using gpuz, I get zero detection from my idle card without gpuz running.
It was a Pita to get mine running defiantly not just install and go but those 2 thing worked for me for xfire with 2x asus 6970 dcii. And as stated yes different HS, looks to be the same PCB though but that shouldnt matter.
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 5, 2011, 03:47 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,999

My System Specs

Default

New & Strange: The older card (currently on "top") is idling @ 43C with a 500/1375mhz clock speed.
The newer one is idling @ 31C with 250/150Mhz...

I honestly still suspect something is going on with the older card... this kind of behavior is not normal.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 5, 2011, 04:41 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,589

My System Specs

Default

Actually that's normal, at least to me. See you are running eyefinity, that means the card with everything plugged into it never drops into true idle mode, instead it runs in a sort of 2D mode. This isn't the only xfire card set up I've had so i've assumed this is normal as it was with different cards/generations
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone running HD6950/6970 crossfire? lowfat Video Cards 12 February 6, 2011 06:29 AM
ASUS 3-slots Direct CU 6970... Delavan Video Cards 5 January 8, 2011 12:08 PM
AMD 6970 Crossfire review crazyeyesreaper Member Reviews 1 January 6, 2011 12:40 PM
Crossfire 4870 vs single 6970 MrBluray Video Cards 9 December 27, 2010 04:55 PM
Asus MB troubles (M2NPV-VM) BrotherJack Troubleshooting 15 February 22, 2008 10:35 AM