Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 29, 2011, 01:10 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,626

My System Specs

Default NVIDIA GTX460 Has Been Nerfed?! In Comes GTX 460v2

GeForce GTX 460 - Specifications - GeForce

There's a drop in the memory interface width, but the texture fill rate has been increased. Same for the clock speeds as well.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 29, 2011, 01:28 PM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,066

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by geokilla View Post
GeForce GTX 460 - Specifications - GeForce

There's a drop in the memory interface width, but the texture fill rate has been increased. Same for the clock speeds as well.
I think it should probably net the same performance. Good to see the 460 line is still going strong as they are amazing cards for the price.
And a pair in SLI for the cost will be cheaper than a lot of single card solutions that net better FPS.

-ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 29, 2011, 01:31 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 1,226

My System Specs

Default

Hmm... so it's an OC'd GTX 460 non-SE with a few memory lines cut? I wonder how they wired the memory to the chip memory channels wise given that 1GB / 192 bits doesn't give you an integer.
If they did something odd with the memory channels (kinda like putting 512+256+256 DIMMs in a PC) then I wonder if latency will suffer.
__________________
"The computer programmer says they should drive the car around the block and see if the tire fixes itself." [src]
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 29, 2011, 03:40 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,958

My System Specs

Default

IMO its basically a 768mb gtx 460 with 256/256/512 (to give it 1gb memory as in a gtx 550 Ti) that has an OC to make up (in theory) for the reduction in memory bus width. I have a feeling this will end up causing a card that is worse in performance per watt. They must have a pile up of 460 chips with a defect and want to get more money for them than the 768mb version brings in.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 4, 2011, 10:05 AM
AMC AMC is offline
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 31

My System Specs

Default

Great, no SLI now with this card. You need to have the exact same card.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 4, 2011, 12:55 PM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,066

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AMC View Post
Great, no SLI now with this card. You need to have the exact same card.
Not sure it would be an issue, I bet you could still do it and the new 460 would just downclock to the same speed as the older one.
Might be a bit of a performance hit But shouldn't be too bad.

Not that I can say for certain, but in theory it should work.

ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 4, 2011, 01:33 PM
AMC AMC is offline
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 31

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soultribunal View Post
Not sure it would be an issue, I bet you could still do it and the new 460 would just downclock to the same speed as the older one.
Might be a bit of a performance hit But shouldn't be too bad.

Not that I can say for certain, but in theory it should work.

ST
That usually works if the architecture is the same. Core clocks, mem clocks can be varied. But if the bus width is different, then it will not act the same. It needs the same number of cores and bus width.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem with GTX460, anyone else have this? Mr. Sneaky Video Cards 9 April 17, 2011 05:13 PM
[FS] EVGA GTX460 brewer265@ Buy/Sell & Trade 1 November 21, 2010 08:44 AM
gtx460 or 5830? TheGrapist Video Cards 13 August 13, 2010 10:32 PM
GTX460? drmsai Video Cards 32 April 2, 2010 10:32 PM