Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 29, 2011, 05:49 AM
Mistertuxedopants's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 35

My System Specs

Default 6950 2gb crossfire

hello,

i am pretty sure i know the answer to this question but i just want to confirm.

I currently have a Sapphire Radeon HD 6950 2GB. I can pair that with any 6950 2GB and run crossfire. It doesn't have to be the same manufacture. Correct?

Thanks
__________________
Holy Bananas

Look at me, I'm wearing one shape up
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 29, 2011, 06:19 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,385

My System Specs

Default

Correct I recommend buying one with the same base clock speeds for simplicity's sake.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 29, 2011, 06:55 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,603

My System Specs

Default

That is correct you do not need to buy the same brand of cards to crossfire or sli. For crossfire as long as its the same sub generation you can crossfire them, aka 69xx can crossfire with each other (though you're limited to the slowest card) and sli is only the same card, aka 580s.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 29, 2011, 07:49 AM
Skippman's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: St. Louis, MO USA
Posts: 146

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JJThomp View Post
Correct I recommend buying one with the same base clock speeds for simplicity's sake.
Ain't that the truth! And even when it's the same vendor it's not always the same clock speeds. I ended up having to flash one of my PowerColor's because it's memory timing was set lower than the original board.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 29, 2011, 08:12 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 608

My System Specs

Default

Hope I'm not hijacking this thread, but what if I CF a 6950 with a 6970, and overclock both to the same speeds via Afterburner, would that cause any issues?
Mind you, my 6950 has it's shaders unlocked and can be OC'ed beyond stock clocks of the 6970 without any issues (I have this card now).

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 29, 2011, 10:09 AM
NI3 NI3 is offline
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 246
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eluder View Post
Hope I'm not hijacking this thread, but what if I CF a 6950 with a 6970, and overclock both to the same speeds via Afterburner, would that cause any issues?
Mind you, my 6950 has it's shaders unlocked and can be OC'ed beyond stock clocks of the 6970 without any issues (I have this card now).

Thanks.
A 6950 unlocked, and a 6970, both with the same clocks would work together. They would perform at about the same as two 6970s, at the same clock speed.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 29, 2011, 10:22 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 608

My System Specs

Default

Great thanks, guess I should be ok if I go the CF route.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 29, 2011, 10:29 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,603

My System Specs

Default

As i previously stated, with AMD as long as its the same generation and sub generation you can xfire, meaning a 6990 can crossfire with a 6970 and even a 6950
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old September 29, 2011, 11:12 AM
Mistertuxedopants's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 35

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arinoth View Post
As i previously stated, with AMD as long as its the same generation and sub generation you can xfire, meaning a 6990 can crossfire with a 6970 and even a 6950
but let say you do crossfire a 6990 and a 6950, they will only preform to the ability of the lowest card.. correct me if i am wrong. I thought i read this somewhere but am not 100% positive.
__________________
Holy Bananas

Look at me, I'm wearing one shape up
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old September 29, 2011, 11:19 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,603

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mistertuxedopants View Post
but let say you do crossfire a 6990 and a 6950, they will only preform to the ability of the lowest card.. correct me if i am wrong. I thought i read this somewhere but am not 100% positive.
That's true, just because you can do it doesn't make it a good idea
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FS] XFX 6950 2GB stuck at 500mhz, selling it cheaper, sold mckchun Buy/Sell & Trade 11 December 21, 2011 06:02 AM
Sapphire Launches Radeon HD 6950 TOXIC Edition, Fastest HD 6950 Yet Sam_Reynolds Press Releases & Tech News 2 August 5, 2011 03:25 PM
6950 crossfire 16x/x4 bad? bcall12 Video Cards 8 August 1, 2011 06:40 PM
6950 Crossfire 1gb tianfeng Video Cards 2 July 2, 2011 02:10 AM
HIS 4850 ICEQ4 Turbo crossfire or normal HIS 4850 crossfire? lanken123 Video Cards 6 October 7, 2008 10:47 PM