Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 24, 2011, 05:53 PM
Beastylemon's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Whitby, ON
Posts: 126

My System Specs

Default SLI GTX480 Different Brands?

Say I wanna SLI an ASUS ENGTX480 (w/ voltage tweak thingy) with a EVGA superclock+.
How would I get that to work =\

Is it possible to OC JUST the ASUS card?

P.S -I'm TOTALLY n00b with SLI, I'm an ATI guy =\
__________________
Corsair 650D / ASUS P8Z68 Deluxe / Intel i7-2600k / MSI N580GTX / 4X4 Gig Corsair Vengeance DDR3-1600 / OCZ Agility 3 120GB / Corsair H100 / Corsair AX1200W PSU
ASUS VE247H / Razer Black Widow Ultimate Stealth Edition / Razer DeathAdder /Razer Destructor Mousepad
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 24, 2011, 05:57 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,535

My System Specs

Default

I'll work just fine, but the higher clocked card will downclock itself to the one that is a lower clock, and no you can't OC just one card.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 24, 2011, 06:05 PM
Beastylemon's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Whitby, ON
Posts: 126

My System Specs

Default

Thank you VERY much, =)
__________________
Corsair 650D / ASUS P8Z68 Deluxe / Intel i7-2600k / MSI N580GTX / 4X4 Gig Corsair Vengeance DDR3-1600 / OCZ Agility 3 120GB / Corsair H100 / Corsair AX1200W PSU
ASUS VE247H / Razer Black Widow Ultimate Stealth Edition / Razer DeathAdder /Razer Destructor Mousepad
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 4, 2011, 10:04 AM
AMC AMC is offline
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 31

My System Specs

Default

Use MSI afterburner to overclock the core speed on each GPU. If not, then the one card will downclock for the same speeds.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 4, 2011, 10:15 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Richmond Hill
Posts: 8,539

My System Specs

Default

As long as they are 480s you are fine doesn't matter the brand at all.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 6, 2011, 07:29 AM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 102

My System Specs

Default

I don't know about other overclock programs but MSI afterburner will not allow you to individually change your voltages. When you select the voltage tweaks, both cards will have their voltages synchronize.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mixing RAM Brands/Specs okay? bkh2 RAM 9 January 5, 2011 05:19 PM
5850: Between Brands inTaiwan Video Cards 4 July 15, 2010 05:08 PM
Crossfire different brands? btecanada Video Cards 4 May 6, 2010 01:20 PM
Psu brands what to look for? upcoast604 Power Supplies 45 March 12, 2010 12:28 PM
Reputation of Gfx brands ? darth nissan Video Cards 16 December 22, 2009 06:02 PM