Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 4, 2011, 06:42 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 206
Default 460, 560 and PSU?

The GTX 460/560/560Ti are 2x6pin, right? So, if your PSU is only 1x6pin, what do you have to do?

My PSU is HX520W so this is only 1x6pin so I need to confirm two things:

1) what do do about the power connectors

2) is the PSU enough? I believe it's 40A on the +12v rail but...

Googling this, I came across a mix of opinions, some saying it's not good enough... in a nutshell, those ppl seemed to imply it's too old... old tech.

Is this true and I would need a new PSU or is it good enough for now?

I could save up for a PSU but the GF104/114 cards requiring a new PSU makes it more expensive since I wasn't taking a new PSU into account...

I believe the wattage/temps of these cards are ok for what they are... but, I am wondering about the power supply needed.

[Edit/aside: I suspect this topic has been covered so apologies for not seeking out that post but I think it would take a while to find it! :-) ]

P.S. is there any problems or concerns if you're using a 1x6-pin PSU with one of these cards? I assume you need an extra connector w/ molex or something? But, is there a concern with that setup?]

Comments?

Last edited by Borg; September 4, 2011 at 06:48 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 4, 2011, 10:30 AM
GT7R's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Our universe
Posts: 991

My System Specs

Default

All these three cards needs 2x6pin, but you don't necessarily need to change your psu. Can we have please full system specs? :)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 4, 2011, 12:26 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 206
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GT7R View Post
All these three cards needs 2x6pin, but you don't necessarily need to change your psu. Can we have please full system specs? :)
You have most of it... :)

The cpu is a Q6600...

I'm just trying to assess my options and go with what makes the most sense.

I would like to go to SNB so I can move to DDR3 RAM but then I'd have to forego the video card a bit longer.

But, I need to determine whether my psu can handle those cards and what I have to do since it's 2x6pin. I think I'd need an adapter.

AFAIK, the Q6600 isn't a bottleneck yet as I won't play any games that pushes this hardware. Also, my monitors are all 1680x1050 and my 22" is being borrowed at the moment so I have a 20" right now. :)

I want to sell my video card if possible, even if it only gets $40 on ebay. So, I'd have to upgrade the entire system with integrated graphics or buy a video card.... so hellllllllllllllppppp.......
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 4, 2011, 01:45 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 143

My System Specs

Default

You will be fine with the molex to 6pin adapter with that PSU. My i7 + 5870 probably only uses 450W at most at load.
__________________
Heatware
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 4, 2011, 01:54 PM
GT7R's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Our universe
Posts: 991

My System Specs

Default

If you don't OC heavily, and the rest of the system has couple of hard drives & lets say 4 standard fans, you can (and should) get the 560Ti. Use an adapter but make sure it's molex connectors are used solely for the Videocard and don't have any HDDs/fans connected to them as well.
Then upgrade your whole system when you'll can, and even add an another 560 down the road... :)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 11, 2011, 05:49 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,580

My System Specs

Default

my Antec Earth Watts 380 is driving a GTX 460 with no issues with the native 6 pin cable and another composed from 2 Molexes so your should be fine
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 11, 2011, 06:39 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 206
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MARSTG View Post
my Antec Earth Watts 380 is driving a GTX 460 with no issues with the native 6 pin cable and another composed from 2 Molexes so your should be fine
I thought the recommended wattage to use is 500w for that card? Or is it for 560 / Ti? That seems a bit low but I understand two things count: 1) the voltage on the 12+ rail and what the PSU has and 2) quality of PSU and the actual wattage used which is often lower than what one thinks in many cases.

Still, I wouldn't want to risk anything and I have extra (external) hard drives that are often connected to my desktop plus other devices including a laser printer. I guess my PSU would still have enough juice? I guess that total wattage used would still be under 500w even with a 460 card added?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 11, 2011, 06:53 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,580

My System Specs

Default

i was talking about powering the GTX 460. If you have external hard drives they should be powered by their own AC adapter, the USB will just support the data flow, is not powering anything. GTX 460 is specified for 160W max power draw. The 6pin connector delivers 75W, the slot delivers 75W by itself but in order to make sure you get another one. Mine is the evga 1370 model which is ovc by default at 720MHz so might take more than the 150W that is why probably is not taking off with a single 6pin cable.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old September 11, 2011, 07:13 AM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 3,015

My System Specs

Default

The reviews I looked at had that power supply with 2x6pin modular cables. Either way I would say your fine with a 460 and should be ok with a 560 (that one I would look into further before saying for sure). Just use one adapter for molex to 6 pin if required. My 460 came with 2 of the adapters, so I am assuming whatever gpu you buy likely ill as well. My computer (full specs in system specs) is x3 710 and gtx 460 768mb OC on a seasonic s12II 500w with no problems and my brothers rig is same video card and i5 760 on seasonic m12II 520w also running fine.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, HD 6950, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb

Last edited by Bond007; September 11, 2011 at 07:25 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes