Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old September 1, 2011, 11:18 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,833

My System Specs

Default

Probably a good move, but I'm curious. What was the price?
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K@4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old September 3, 2011, 12:59 PM
no_pulse's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Hamilton, Ontario
Posts: 389
Default

My system specs are:

Intel Quad Core Q6600 @2.40ghz
8gb of DDR ram
and well my new Geforce GTX 560ti

I paid $250 for the card I think. Good price, at least I think, especially when I was used to paying $500+ for cards.

They didn't have an EVGA, so I had top go with PNY. I hope they are a decent corp.
__________________
Originally Posted by kruzn4evr:

"The peppers fired a warning shot. Some were so loud and echoing that I was later told a few folks in
other aisles had ducked, fearing that someone was robbing the store and firing off a shotgun."
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old September 3, 2011, 01:28 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 240

My System Specs

Default

it should be fine

you should be happy with the card for awhile
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old September 3, 2011, 04:40 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,833

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by no_pulse View Post
My system specs are:

Intel Quad Core Q6600 @2.40ghz
8gb of DDR ram
and well my new Geforce GTX 560ti

I paid $250 for the card I think. Good price, at least I think, especially when I was used to paying $500+ for cards.

They didn't have an EVGA, so I had top go with PNY. I hope they are a decent corp.
You should be quite happy with the new card. You will very likely be CPU limited in many games now. You'll have to spring for an i5 2500k/MOB/RAM now to give the new card some breathing room.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K@4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old September 4, 2011, 04:22 PM
Phill's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Morden MB
Posts: 582

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond007 View Post
You will very likely be CPU limited in many games now.
OC that Q66 and you will be fine. Heck an Oc'd Q66 (to 3.6 though) can handle two 460s at 900mhz.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old September 4, 2011, 09:16 PM
bkh2's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Coquitlam, BC
Posts: 265

My System Specs

Default

Good move getting the 560ti over the 460. I did a comparison of my friend's gtx 460 with my gtx 275. Granted that the 460 outperformed my 275, it is not worth the money as an upgrade path (in my opinion).
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old September 4, 2011, 10:14 PM
yycraven's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Martensville,SK
Posts: 937

My System Specs

Default

I think going with the GTX 560ti was a good choice. Performs better then the GTX 460 and your old card.
__________________
ASRock Extreme 3,2500K,NH-D14,Patriot G2 16GB ,WD 750GB,640GB Sata ,2 GTX 470 SLi Thermaltake toughpower XT850W,Tech Station. V243H,2253LW LCD
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old September 5, 2011, 09:09 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,302

My System Specs

Default

To be totally honest I wouldn't bother upgrading unless you need the dx11 and are an avid gamer, I was using a 260 for a while then it blew up and was replaced with a 1 gb 285, but the 285 created allot of heat so I was looking for a water block to cool it down and ended up buys a 2gb 285gtx with the water block on it and I have to tell you I can't see myself upgrading this card for a long time and I do a fair amount of gaming and I am totally satisfied gaming at this resolution.
but I have to admitt though I do feel like upgrading but it has nothing to do with needing to but it is just that dam addictive upgrading bug that is very contagious lo
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old September 6, 2011, 11:36 AM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Tillsonburg, Ontario
Posts: 912

My System Specs

Default

The 560 ti's are nice I can attest to that got to finally do some gaming on mine this weekend!

You should be very happy with that choice :)
__________________


Comp1 (Mine) : ASUS P9X79 LE, 3960X, 16GB Corsair Vengence 1333, PNY 770 4GB, OCZ Vertex3 240GB, OCZ Vertex3 480GB, 600GB VelociRaptor, Corsair 1000HX, Cool Master Cosmos 2

Comp2 (Wife's) : ASUS Sabertooth P67, i7 2700K, 8GB Corsair Vengeance 1866, 1TB HD, 2TB HD, EVGA 660, Corsair 1000HX, HAF 922

Comp3 (Kids) : ASUS P8P67 Pro, i7 2700K, 8GB 1866 GSkill, Gigabyte 770, Crucial M4 120GB, OCZ Vertex3 240GB,1TB WD Black, Antec 850W, Antec 120
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is that a good choice for Case & Power for a Gigabyte X58A-UD3R ? Godis New Builds 14 July 18, 2010 07:08 PM
PhenomIIX4 955BE + 5850; ASUS M4A785TD-V Evo good choice? 15Down New Builds 8 December 27, 2009 02:36 PM
Is linux a good choice for an HTPC system? quikgp HTPC Systems & Software 6 April 28, 2009 06:17 PM
Trying to make a mobo choice... Rausch CPU's and Motherboards 10 February 6, 2008 06:05 PM
I have a choice to make... a video card? 3.0charlie Video Cards 23 October 24, 2007 03:55 PM