Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 30, 2011, 03:15 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Calgary
Posts: 19
Default 4890 - Upgrade for BF3?

Hi guys,

I have a Q6600 CPU, OC'ed to 3.3GHz and 4GB of RAM.

I want to have a good 1680x0150 experience in BF3 (single monitor).

The 4890 I currently have played BC2 great, but I am concerned I'll need a bit more oomph for BF3.

What would be a good upgrade card under $250, given my current CPU? I was thinking 6870, but that may be too small an incremental upgrade?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 30, 2011, 03:26 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

the least you want right now would be a gtx 560 ti or amd hd6950 class video card

yes, you are not going to play at 1920x1080/1200 but still

i would also get a better lcd, in the future,.

and a cpu mobo upgrade,say 6 months down the line
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 30, 2011, 03:46 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,951

My System Specs

Default

^^^Pretty much agree.

Min I would recommend upgrading to is 6950/560ti. After that I would say you will be CPU limited and will be in need of CPU/MOB/Ram to get better FPS.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 30, 2011, 06:29 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Tillsonburg, Ontario
Posts: 914

My System Specs

Default

I would also agree that a better video card is needed although I'd probably either sell yours and get a used one or sell yours now (try to get a new one as close as possible to when BF3 comes out as I think thats around black friday aint it?
__________________


Comp1 (Mine) : ASUS P9X79 LE, 3960X, 16GB Corsair Vengence 1333, PNY 770 4GB, OCZ Vertex3 240GB, OCZ Vertex3 480GB, 600GB VelociRaptor, Corsair 1000HX, Cool Master Cosmos 2

Comp2 (Wife's) : ASUS Sabertooth P67, i7 2700K, 8GB Corsair Vengeance 1866, 1TB HD, 2TB HD, EVGA 660, Corsair 1000HX, HAF 922

Comp3 (Kids) : ASUS P8P67 Pro, i7 2700K, 8GB 1866 GSkill, Gigabyte 770, Crucial M4 120GB, OCZ Vertex3 240GB,1TB WD Black, Antec 850W, Antec 120
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 30, 2011, 10:34 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 240

My System Specs

Default

well unless you know the specs needed for the game

might as well wait and see. remember this game has to work on consoles as well
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 31, 2011, 07:27 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Calgary
Posts: 19
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by roh_ultima View Post
well unless you know the specs needed for the game

might as well wait and see. remember this game has to work on consoles as well
  • They have developed the PC version independently of the console versions (console versions are neutered)
  • DICE has said that the new FB2.0 engine will be more GPU-intensive than the FB 1.5 engine that powers BFBC2

My 4890 ran BC2 fine, but I am worried I won't see a solid 45-60fps in BF3, given the incremental increase in intensity in the FB2.0 engine.

Is the 6950 that big an upgrade over the 4890?

Thanks all for all the replies thus far!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 3, 2011, 10:14 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 33
Default

I would probably upgrade, the BF games are beasts when it comes to requirements. However, due to the rapid devaluation of graphics hardware, I would put off a purchase until the game actually comes out.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 6, 2011, 02:54 PM
crawlerz246's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Bizarro World
Posts: 25

My System Specs

Default

surprisingly my 4890 ran BF3 alpha relatively well @ 1920x1080. I will say this - it overheated badly. VERY.
see here...
Hunter Killer - a BF3 knife mini-tage - HD - YouTube
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old September 6, 2011, 03:52 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Woncouver
Posts: 5
Default

4870x2 FTW
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
4890 1GB Card with Q6600 - What to Upgrade To? amorak Video Cards 15 May 22, 2010 05:18 AM
[WTB] ATI HD 4890- $150 AdoP Buy/Sell & Trade 6 February 25, 2010 04:19 PM
Have 4890 upgrade to 5850 or xfire? baxbunny Video Cards 15 February 3, 2010 04:48 PM
Toxic HD 4890 or Vapor-X HD 4890 AmuseMe Video Cards 10 July 20, 2009 03:54 AM