Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 24, 2011, 04:41 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 18

My System Specs

Default Sapphire Toxic 6950 2GB Question - Preloaded with HD 6970 Bios?

Sapphire Toxic 6950 2GB - The Product in question....

http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814102951


I Plan on buying 2 HD 6950's for crossfire and I've been hearing that this specific card has a preloaded 6970 bios, and all I have to do is flick the bios switch. I'm hearing people say things like...

" Sapphire Toxic edition comes with an unlocked bios straight out of the box."

" You can't unlock shaders but the dual bios makes it easier to flash an overclock to stock clocks of a 6970 or higher, and really that's where the real benefit comes from. "

" Someone posted about Sapphire's new Toxic 6950 2GB which came preloaded with that 6970 bios, which unlocked shaders. "


I just need some clarification... does this card still have a preloaded bios... do I need to flash it myself? Will Flashing it make any difference? Thanks, I plan to overclock, would it be better just to max overclock them as 6950's? Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 24, 2011, 06:53 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 655

My System Specs

Default

I have a few of Sapphire's first gen 6950's with the dual bios switch. I've heard you can just flash the 6970 bios, but I felt it safer to just modify the bios it came with, unlock the additional shaders (that were there) and then use the program of my choice to up the voltages and speeds.

of the comments you highlited.
1. seems bios is flashable
2. Perhaps the extra shaders of the 6970 are no longer there, but you could still flash to the 6970 speeds
3. seems to contradict #2

with the dual bios, (switch) you essentialy have a get out of jail free card. If you mess it up you can flick back to the unmodded one and boot, then reflash stock to the modded one and you're back to square one.
__________________
QuadZilla & The Four Horsemen

Have an A-1 day!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 24, 2011, 08:06 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

you never flash a 6970 bios, you flash an unlocked 6950 one.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FS] XFX 6950 2GB stuck at 500mhz, selling it cheaper, sold mckchun Buy/Sell & Trade 11 December 21, 2011 05:02 AM
Sapphire Launches Radeon HD 6950 TOXIC Edition, Fastest HD 6950 Yet Sam_Reynolds Press Releases & Tech News 2 August 5, 2011 02:25 PM
[WTB] HD 6950/6970 560 ti 2gb Pankie Buy/Sell & Trade 0 July 17, 2011 06:53 PM
[FS] Intel 2500k SOLD, Sapphire 6950 with BIOS unlock SOLD wedge22 Buy/Sell & Trade 0 May 12, 2011 10:09 PM
AMD 6970/6950 On the Egg Chromey Video Cards 5 December 14, 2010 08:56 PM