Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 19, 2011, 02:09 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 2
Default GTX 570 bottleneck

hi

Im geting a gtx 570 classified and i like to know if my amd Athlon II X4 635 2.9GHz is going to bottleneck it?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 19, 2011, 02:44 AM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,560

My System Specs

Default

No, probably not.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 19, 2011, 09:01 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by supaflyx3 View Post
No, probably not.
yes,it will. especially on cpu intensive games nd lower resolution.

and welcome aboard :)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 19, 2011, 10:50 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sunshine coast, BC
Posts: 510
Default

2nd that ^^^^ what dangtx said.
__________________
Gaming FX 8350 / Tuniq Tower 120/ R9 280X / G Skill 12800CL9D 4x4GBXL/ S12D 850w/ GA 990FXA-UD3 /WD640AALS Black, WD1TB FALS x1, / Dell IPS 1920x1080/ Win 7 64
Daily Use x4 965BE 3.8GHZ/GA-790x/HD6870/EA750w/8GB ram/Win 7 64 and a whole bunch o hdds
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 19, 2011, 11:30 AM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 3,454

My System Specs

Default

depends on game. CPU heavy games definitely bottlenecked. GPU heavy games not at all.
__________________
Desktop: Arc Midi R2, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, XFX R9 280X DD, Bitfenix Fury 750w, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 19, 2011, 12:23 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 2
Default

If i get AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition 3.4GHz will that be good?

Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 19, 2011, 12:39 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

what is the rest of the system looking like?

add your info there so we can better answer thine hardware questions. software too.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 19, 2011, 01:23 PM
ultraman7k's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 527

My System Specs

Default

my phenom II x3 720 running at 3.5 bottlenecked with my 6970 and 8gb of ram.

but then again you do have 4 cores.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 19, 2011, 02:14 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sunshine coast, BC
Posts: 510
Default

I did have a gtx570 on my 965BE for a short while and it worked very well, not much of a bottleneck at all.
__________________
Gaming FX 8350 / Tuniq Tower 120/ R9 280X / G Skill 12800CL9D 4x4GBXL/ S12D 850w/ GA 990FXA-UD3 /WD640AALS Black, WD1TB FALS x1, / Dell IPS 1920x1080/ Win 7 64
Daily Use x4 965BE 3.8GHZ/GA-790x/HD6870/EA750w/8GB ram/Win 7 64 and a whole bunch o hdds
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old August 19, 2011, 02:21 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sunshine coast, BC
Posts: 510
Default

Introducing the New Phenom II 980 BE vs. Core i7-920 – value meets performance again | AlienBabelTech

With GTX590, gives you an idea.
__________________
Gaming FX 8350 / Tuniq Tower 120/ R9 280X / G Skill 12800CL9D 4x4GBXL/ S12D 850w/ GA 990FXA-UD3 /WD640AALS Black, WD1TB FALS x1, / Dell IPS 1920x1080/ Win 7 64
Daily Use x4 965BE 3.8GHZ/GA-790x/HD6870/EA750w/8GB ram/Win 7 64 and a whole bunch o hdds
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Where is my bottleneck now... Skyllz Video Cards 11 July 21, 2010 08:07 PM
Bottleneck? mjpd1983 Gaming 7 June 16, 2010 06:56 AM
Will my CPU bottleneck the GTX 260 shaman44 Video Cards 15 March 29, 2010 08:46 PM
Bottleneck - GPU or CPU? mattydies Video Cards 15 July 6, 2009 10:32 PM
Gtx 260 - 280 Cpu Bottleneck? aviduser Video Cards 5 February 4, 2009 02:34 PM