Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old August 15, 2011, 05:42 AM
HiTi's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 239
Default

When you uninstalled the catalyst drivers, did you run driver cleaner or ccleaner to rid the system of any traces of the old installation? ATI/AMD is very fussy when it comes to this.
Try CCC 11.6 and download and install the Catalyst Profiles, this seems to be working extremely good for my set up.
Also make sure in AMD overdrive that crossfire is working, and do not alt tab out of bc2 as it will stop( it does in my case) crossfire and knock you back down to one card.
Big thing is make sure you get rid of all traces of the old installation...folder and all. You can also try running msi afterburner and have it running in the background to watch video card utilization. BC2 should be using 80-100% on both cards during game play.
You can also use it to watch the temps of each card...which also may be your issue.
Hope this helps. Just be patient and you will get it working
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old August 15, 2011, 11:48 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Sault Ste. Marie, ON
Posts: 53
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HiTi View Post
When you uninstalled the catalyst drivers, did you run driver cleaner or ccleaner to rid the system of any traces of the old installation? ATI/AMD is very fussy when it comes to this.
Try CCC 11.6 and download and install the Catalyst Profiles, this seems to be working extremely good for my set up.
Also make sure in AMD overdrive that crossfire is working, and do not alt tab out of bc2 as it will stop( it does in my case) crossfire and knock you back down to one card.
Big thing is make sure you get rid of all traces of the old installation...folder and all. You can also try running msi afterburner and have it running in the background to watch video card utilization. BC2 should be using 80-100% on both cards during game play.
You can also use it to watch the temps of each card...which also may be your issue.
Hope this helps. Just be patient and you will get it working
Hey, thanks for the suggestions. I tried doing a clean reinstall of CCC and the drivers and the issue still persists. I checked with GPU-z, and both cards are close to 100% load during gameplay. However, GPU-z also reports that one of the cards runs at over 80 Celsius during gaming. Could that be causing the issue?

Last edited by dimre01; August 15, 2011 at 08:03 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old August 17, 2011, 11:22 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Newfoundland
Posts: 41

My System Specs

Default

Sounds like micro-stutter to me. A high frame rate that appears to be lower with a possibly "choppy" appearance is how I'd define micro-stutter. It usually comes along with dual-GPU setups and is why most people recommend going with a single more powerful card.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old September 17, 2011, 11:51 PM
Trial Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1
Default same issure here please help!

bump... having same issue as OP. anyone have a suggestion on how to fix this issue???

fraps is saying 50-70fps on games like dead island/bf bc2 but the frames feel very shakey, it does not look smooth. the frames are keeping up with my movements, there isnt any input lag but when I move my mouse slowly in first person shooters i can see the frames shaking, its almost like my entire monitor is vibrating...

Last edited by amplify51; September 18, 2011 at 12:21 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old September 18, 2011, 01:08 AM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,537

My System Specs

Default

Reinstall drivers, make sure they arent overheating.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old September 18, 2011, 04:49 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,915

My System Specs

Default

IMO microstuttering. There was a really good link posted the other day somewhere on HWC about it (can't find it right now). Try using other drivers (older ones). You may get lucky and find one that works better. Try swapping card positions and run the other card as the primary. That is the major problem with SLI/Xfire. Can be a lot of troubleshooting/ trial and error to get smoothish FPS.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old September 18, 2011, 05:04 AM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,776

My System Specs

Default

Inside the second: A new look at game benchmarking - The Tech Report - Page 1

Basically you get the frames done in a manner that means one is drawn and transported really really fast and one is drawn fast but has to get back to the second card.

Although you still get a higher framerate than a single card, the difference in timing of the frames makes it feel MUCH slower.
This can be seen in most / all multi-gpu set-ups but is much worse on AMD's and much worse on low range cards. (my personal opinion and conclusions from that article).

Basically, use one card or sell em both and buy something bigger as Xfire and SLI have come a long long way but IMO aren't worth it yet.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old September 18, 2011, 09:21 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,367

My System Specs

Default

does the stuttering happen on all games is it a single player game or a online game I know that somegames out there are not that great and stutter no matter what you do also if it is online could it be your internet?
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old September 18, 2011, 09:35 AM
techman95's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: TEXAS
Posts: 322

My System Specs

Default

if you have afterburner or fraps or a similar program i had similar issue. till i uninstalled them then it went away after i did that.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old September 18, 2011, 10:39 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,977

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dzzope View Post
Inside the second: A new look at game benchmarking - The Tech Report - Page 1

Basically you get the frames done in a manner that means one is drawn and transported really really fast and one is drawn fast but has to get back to the second card.

Although you still get a higher framerate than a single card, the difference in timing of the frames makes it feel MUCH slower.
This can be seen in most / all multi-gpu set-ups but is much worse on AMD's and much worse on low range cards. (my personal opinion and conclusions from that article).

Basically, use one card or sell em both and buy something bigger as Xfire and SLI have come a long long way but IMO aren't worth it yet.


AMD has severe issues w/ Crossfire and micro stuttering.

Good article btw.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sapphire AMD Radeon HD 5770 Vapor-X High temps? BFighter Video Cards 1 April 5, 2011 02:52 PM
Upgrade my PC: 4GB DDR3 or xfire 5770 billy New Builds 3 May 31, 2010 07:10 AM
Can I xfire 5770 jnliten Power Supplies 4 May 4, 2010 08:06 PM
PC choppy/laggy issues. stephenc44 Troubleshooting 4 April 14, 2010 06:37 PM
Some blurays are choppy... biff HTPC Systems & Software 8 September 5, 2009 08:03 PM