Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 9, 2011, 07:52 AM
On2wheels's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: ontario
Posts: 920
Default WHQL 280.26 are out

New drivers, I'm hoping they resolve some BFBC2 and Brink issues I was having but I doubt it.
NVIDIA DRIVERS 280.26 WHQL
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 9, 2011, 08:06 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 344

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by On2wheels View Post
New drivers, I'm hoping they resolve some BFBC2 and Brink issues I was having but I doubt it.
NVIDIA DRIVERS 280.26 WHQL
In a nutshell, what BFBC2 issues?

link to 32bit version
NVIDIA DRIVERS 280.26 WHQL
There is a 37mb difference between the 32 and 64bit release, so pick yours accordingly I guess.

Last edited by blaze_125; August 9, 2011 at 08:49 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 9, 2011, 08:31 AM
francisw19's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Alberta
Posts: 246
Default

Thanks for the heads-up...I'll take these for a spin later.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 9, 2011, 08:54 AM
On2wheels's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: ontario
Posts: 920
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by blaze_125 View Post
In a nutshell, what BFBC2 issues?

link to 32bit version
NVIDIA DRIVERS 280.26 WHQL
There is a 37mb difference between the 32 and 64bit release, so pick yours accordingly I guess.
Thanks for the 32bit link. I want to post a video of the issue I'm getting, it's some flickering in the sky on Panama Canal. I've only been able to fix it by going back to some old drivers from earlier this year. Will attempt to get that video up in the coming days.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 9, 2011, 09:09 AM
Keywork's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Niagara
Posts: 603

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by On2wheels View Post
Thanks for the 32bit link. I want to post a video of the issue I'm getting, it's some flickering in the sky on Panama Canal. I've only been able to fix it by going back to some old drivers from earlier this year. Will attempt to get that video up in the coming days.
I'm almost positive this is a BC2 issue and not an nvidia issue. Google around for "BC2 flickering" and you'll quickly see this is a common problem. Ask me how I know lol.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 9, 2011, 09:48 AM
Sagath's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Petawawa, ON
Posts: 2,451

My System Specs

Default

Funny, the beta's of these were released about a week ago. They must have put them in for WHQL cert at the same time.

Of note in the 280 series, they changed the power saving technology in these drivers and made them dynamic;

Quote:
With the Release 280 drivers, NVIDIA GPU clock speeds will increase more quickly in
response to increased graphics demands. Conversely, with lower graphics use the GPU
clock speed slows down more quickly, conserving as much power as possible.
You may notice the fluctuation in clock speeds while engaging in various tasks on the PC.
This is to be expected, and indicates that the GPU performance mode is adjusting as
needed and that the GPU is operating at the optimal performance level at all times. It
does not hurt the life of the GPU. If you wish to force the GPU into maximum
performance mode, open the NVIDIA Control Panel, click 3D Settings‐>Manage 3D
Settings then set the Power Management mode setting to Prefer maximum performance
I'd be interested to see if this has any effect on FPS and/or power savings. Sky, care to elaborate and bench these for us? ;)
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lpfan4ever View Post
AKG shot the hamsters, and then Perineum drove his Mustang with summer tires into the server.
My Disclaimer to any advice or comment I make;
Quote:
Originally Posted by CroSsFiRe2009 View Post
I'm a self certified whizbang repair technician with 20 years of professional bullshit so I don't know what I'm talking about
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 9, 2011, 01:22 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,601

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sagath View Post
Funny, the beta's of these were released about a week ago. They must have put them in for WHQL cert at the same time.

Of note in the 280 series, they changed the power saving technology in these drivers and made them dynamic;



I'd be interested to see if this has any effect on FPS and/or power savings. Sky, care to elaborate and bench these for us? ;)

I would be curious to know if here is a difference as well.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Gigabyte Z77-D3H, i5 3570K with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb 1600mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 9, 2011, 02:51 PM
On2wheels's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: ontario
Posts: 920
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Keywork View Post
I'm almost positive this is a BC2 issue and not an nvidia issue. Google around for "BC2 flickering" and you'll quickly see this is a common problem. Ask me how I know lol.
Well, I tried Fraps, and funny enough, it does still flicker with these drivers set to auto mode, but it stops when I hit record! But it is less flickering than previously.
I'll try these for a bit and see what other maps are like. One strange thing I noticed was the Adobe flash animation at adobe.com was alot faster and smoother with no video drivers installed at all.

edit: playing BFBC in a window solves the flicker. that's it. I'm done tweaking.

Last edited by On2wheels; August 9, 2011 at 06:37 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 9, 2011, 07:54 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,615

My System Specs

Default

How's the effect on Foilding@Home?

So are these drivers any good?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old August 9, 2011, 08:15 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 1,223

My System Specs

Default

GTX 550 Ti + these drivers in folding is a NO GO

Quote:
# Windows GPU Console Edition #################################################
################################################## #############################
Folding@Home Client Version 6.41r2
Folding@home - Main
################################################## #############################
################################################## #############################
Launch directory: C:\Users\frontier204\Desktop\fahgpu
Executable: C:\Users\frontier204\Desktop\fahgpu\fahgpu.exe

(...)
[15:11:43]
[15:11:43] Gpu type=3 species=21.
[15:11:43] Loaded queue successfully.
[15:11:43]
[15:11:43] + Processing work unit
[15:11:43] Core required: FahCore_15.exe
[15:11:43] Core found.
[15:11:43] Working on queue slot 02 [August 10 15:11:43 UTC]
[15:11:43] + Working ...
[15:11:43]
[15:11:43] *------------------------------*
[15:11:43] Folding@Home GPU Core
[15:11:43] Version 2.15 (Tue Nov 16 09:05:18 PST 2010)
[15:11:43]
[15:11:43] Build host: SimbiosNvdWin7
[15:11:43] Board Type: NVIDIA/CUDA
[15:11:43] Core : x=15
[15:11:43] Window's signal control handler registered.
[15:11:43] Preparing to commence simulation
[15:11:43] - Looking at optimizations...
[15:11:43] - Files status OK
[15:11:43] sizeof(CORE_PACKET_HDR) = 512 file=<>
[15:11:43] - Expanded 43634 -> 170279 (decompressed 390.2 percent)
[15:11:43] Called DecompressByteArray: compressed_data_size=43634 data_size=170279, decompressed_data_size=170279 diff=0
[15:11:43] - Digital signature verified
[15:11:43]
[15:11:43] Project: 6804 (Run 13, Clone 2, Gen 180)
[15:11:43]
[15:11:43] Assembly optimizations on if available.
[15:11:43] Entering M.D.
(...)
[15:11:45] Working on ALZHEIMER'S DISEASE AMYLOID
[15:11:45] Client config found, loading data.
[15:11:45] Starting GUI Server
[15:11:49] CoreStatus = 63 (99)
[15:11:49] + Error starting Folding@home core.
__________________
"The computer programmer says they should drive the car around the block and see if the tire fixes itself." [src]
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nvidia 275.33 whql NEW! Slik O/S's, Drivers & General Software 3 June 5, 2011 05:10 AM
Nvidia 270.61 whql.available! Slik O/S's, Drivers & General Software 2 April 19, 2011 01:42 PM
Nvidia 266.77 WHQL available. Slik O/S's, Drivers & General Software 0 March 9, 2011 08:24 AM
163.69 Whql Gamashinoch Video Cards 12 September 27, 2007 07:29 PM
162.22 WHQL-Vista32/64 Gamashinoch Video Cards 0 August 8, 2007 04:15 AM