Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old August 13, 2011, 12:55 PM
Delavan's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mtl
Posts: 1,153
Default

Go for it....

It's not overkill when it brings a smile to your face!
Look at rig in sig, I'm running at 1680 x 1050...games are running smooth....BF3 will be fine I'm sure.....might not be able to squeeze every last bit of AA or or FSAA out of the game, but it will run fine on high im confident that my rig will be a good gaming platform for at least another year, maybe 1.5 years...
__________________
i7 4770K @ 4.5GHz / Corsair H100i / Maximus VI HERO / 8GB Corsair Vengeance Red LP 1.5V 1866 / EVGA GTX780 ACX / Corsair Performance Pro 128GB SSD / Intel 520 120GB SSD / WD Black 640 GB storage

ROG G53SX laptop: i7 2630QM / 12GB DDR3 / GTX560m 2GB / 750GB 7200rpm (14 000 3Dmarks06)

Last edited by Delavan; August 13, 2011 at 01:02 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old August 13, 2011, 04:10 PM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 3,144

My System Specs

Default

If you have the cash, your motherboard supports crossfire, and its a good deal, then go for it.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, HD 6950(unlocked shaders and OC'd), Bitfenix Fury 750w, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old August 13, 2011, 06:17 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 25
Default

Hmm, truthfully It is up to you to decide whether to get another set of monitor, since u r running at crossfireX.
Pros: able to do multiple task really a lot (I'm the type that love doing multiple task all at a shot so yeah), Eg. homework, music editing, video rendering, etc etc.
Cons: waste of money (PLUS dual GPU give better performance with gaming)

I may-be wrong about what i say, but that is just what I'm doing right now. (I just wanna share my computer space)
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old August 16, 2011, 11:55 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sunshine coast, BC
Posts: 490
Default

CCM001, did you get the other 6850 and are there any problems with the xfire set up like bad min fps drops at all?
__________________
waiting for FX 8350 to arrive / Tuniq Tower 120/ R9 280X / G Skill 12800CL9D 4x4GBXL/ S12D 850w/ GA 990FXA-UD3 /WD640AALS Black, WD1TB FALS x1, / Dell IPS 1920x1080/ Win 7 64
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old August 17, 2011, 08:04 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Halifax
Posts: 209

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by upcoast604 View Post
CCM001, did you get the other 6850 and are there any problems with the xfire set up like bad min fps drops at all?
I did just get it the other day! So far I haven't noticed any bad dips over the single card. It seems like newer games (dx10 and 11 perhaps) really scale well, like Crysis, Metro and Dirt3. But some older games I still have that I tried there was very little performance increase, that being GTA4 and Mafia2.

With crysis det at very high for details setting, and only 2aa I almost doubled my FPS at stock speeds. Metro gave me similar results, almost double. SO in both I was able to crank up the settings a little more and get better looking games and decent FPS (still above 40). So far I am quite happy!

Definitely not overkill, I am quite pleased with the purchase!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old August 18, 2011, 11:45 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sunshine coast, BC
Posts: 490
Default

Thanks ccm, I want to try xfire if the 6850 drops $ a little more.
__________________
waiting for FX 8350 to arrive / Tuniq Tower 120/ R9 280X / G Skill 12800CL9D 4x4GBXL/ S12D 850w/ GA 990FXA-UD3 /WD640AALS Black, WD1TB FALS x1, / Dell IPS 1920x1080/ Win 7 64
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old August 18, 2011, 11:46 AM
Painbringer71's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 89

My System Specs

Default

I have the 6850 toxic in crossfire and performance on new games like Crysis 2 have increased. I notice less choppy and more seamless play at higher settings. Although when I added eyefintiy i had to scale back a little to get the same results. The real big thing I noticed is the heat coming out its a space heater now. Should help with the winter bills this coming season.

Last edited by Painbringer71; August 18, 2011 at 03:14 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old August 18, 2011, 06:16 PM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 3,144

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by upcoast604 View Post
Thanks ccm, I want to try xfire if the 6850 drops $ a little more.

How about $145 with a $30 MIR to bring it to $115. LINK
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, HD 6950(unlocked shaders and OC'd), Bitfenix Fury 750w, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Budget board for crossfire 6850. Gamblez New Builds 10 May 28, 2011 09:11 PM
A bit of an overkill laptop lcdguy Mobile Computing 1 August 21, 2010 05:48 PM
OverKill Fan Grills Mnpctech Off Topic 4 December 6, 2009 05:16 PM
Is the 4890 overkill for my new system or will it help... mitchelt New Builds 9 August 5, 2009 02:30 PM
Is Q6600 overkill for my needs? Kayen CPU's and Motherboards 21 October 11, 2008 11:51 AM