Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old August 3, 2011, 03:37 PM
maverick_brent's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 467

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sakage.shinga View Post
If I do end up getting either card (6870 or 6950), I will definitely sell my 5850. How much do you guys think I can get for it on HWC?
check the forums, looks like they are going around 150ish....
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old August 3, 2011, 03:57 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,592

My System Specs

Default

No real point in going with the less powered 6870, just go for a 6950, its worth the extra little cost
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old August 3, 2011, 11:39 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 203
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by maverick_brent View Post
what resolution?

im a firm believer and supporter of the 6950, and i disagree with the other poster that the 6950 isnt worth the extra 100 bucks, especially if you get a card that can be unlocked (hold debate on the performance gains there) modding the card is just cool :P

and as far as bf3 goes, i can accurately say that the 6950 will do just fine ;)
I did more research, and yes the 6950 is actually a WHOLE lot better.

I am ditching my 5770's for one atm. You can get one from Canada computers for only 280.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old August 6, 2011, 09:42 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 10
Default

I doent thing going to a 6950 from a 5850 is a upgrade . Your limiting factor is the asus motherboard with the Foxcomm socket. I was running a Sabertooth 55i untill the socket melted with a i5 750 @4.4Ghz at only 1.375V dead and RMA refused so Im running a EVGA SLI mobo now(Tyco socket). BFBC2 I get 162 fps 1920X1200 8XAA 16XAF HBOA(or what ever it is) on with pair of 5850 Xtreme ($338 CAD) 900/5000. I would hold on and OC the CPU to at least 4Ghz you should be able to do that at close to default voltages mine will do 4ghz @1.3v 200BCLK X 20 multiplier. AMD has new vid cards on the way in the 4th quarter of this year. They are only a die shrink and refined but worth the wait.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old August 16, 2011, 01:25 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Burbank California
Posts: 9
Default

Save up, get a hd 6950
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old August 16, 2011, 01:28 AM
GT7R's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Our universe
Posts: 991

My System Specs

Default

If you're not ina rush, wait 3-4 months till AMD will launch their next gen. Nvidia will take 2-3 months more :P
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to save our planet? Save the Sharks! Cptn Vortex Off Topic 9 June 29, 2012 12:49 PM
Trying to save my motherboard -- what is this? murphyslaw Troubleshooting 13 July 25, 2011 06:57 PM
[FS] MSi 5850 and Sapphire 5850 *BOTH SOLD* wedge22 Buy/Sell & Trade 8 January 5, 2011 01:37 PM
AM2 6XXX CPU's Discontinued? Scart CPU's and Motherboards 1 October 3, 2008 09:23 AM
Can Vista save PC gaming? DevilUknow Gaming 4 April 8, 2007 12:55 PM