Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 27, 2011, 12:46 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,624

My System Specs

Default How Well Can NVIDIA GTX 460 768MB Run SC2 @ 1080P?

How well can a NVIDIA GTX 460 768MB run SC2 @ 1080P? I recently bought a BenQ E2420HD from NCIX a couple weeks ago and I picked it up today. I'm wondering how well it'll run SC2 at 1080P with my current rig Phenom II rig. As we all know, SC2 is pretty CPU intensive, but would 768MB be cutting it a bit too close? I want to run SC2 with at least high or ultra detail. I'm using StarCraft II GPU Performance Comparison as a reference, and it seems that I should be able to play SC2 just fine with my GTX 460 768MB. If that's the case, I'll either sell or return the Sapphire 6950 1GB that I also picked up.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 27, 2011, 12:52 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Markham
Posts: 1,568

My System Specs

Default

Notice the benchmarks you linked are for 1920x1200 not 1080p. If there was any concern at all, it would be your processor, but given the decent clock speeds I wouldn't be.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 27, 2011, 01:25 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,624

My System Specs

Default

Yep, which means it should perform even better as 1080P has less pixels than 1920X1200. But I just want to make sure because the Sapphire 6950 1GB for $200 + tax is a very good deal.

However the review SKYMTL did was a 2vs2 battle which is generally speaking, not as intense as those huge 1vs1 battles where it's like 200 supply vs 200 supply. I used to lag in the huge 1vs1 battles, thanks to High Templar storms and stuff. Turning down the CPU physics to high fixed it a bit and I haven't experienced anymore lag since.

Phenom II X4 and GTX 460 System Lagging
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 27, 2011, 03:08 PM
Silvgearx's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,106

My System Specs

Default

I max out SC2 on a 9800GT.(stock setting)

1680x1050


There is that geforce site......

GeForce.com - Get the Most Out of Your GPU
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 27, 2011, 03:34 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,361

My System Specs

Default

I have a Phenom II X4 940 along with an HD4890 (very close to a GTX 460 768mb) and I play SC2 at Ultra at 1920x1200 just fine. (1v1, 2v2, 4v4)
My cousin has a Phenom II X3 720 along with a GTX 460 768mb and he has no problem, but he is not playing as much as I am.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 27, 2011, 03:36 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,577
Default

You should be able to run it perfectly at or near max settings.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 27, 2011, 03:48 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 48
Default

I maxed it out on my I7 920 at 4.0 GHz and a 8800GTX Ultra at 1080p. I'm not sure what frames I had but I never noticed any slow down and a 460 is roughly twice as fast.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 28, 2011, 07:06 AM
Apathetik's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Tobin Lake, SK
Posts: 302

My System Specs

Default

I have probably identical to your set up or what you're wondering, and ultra is too high. It chops in a lot of instances, but on high it runs well. 3v3s or 4v4s will still chop at high though. 1v1 or 2v2 will be fine at high, not ultra. 1gb of vram is recommended for ultra textures, 512mb for high. Hope this helps, cya in game maybe.

Also check this;

AnandTech - Bench - CPU
__________________



Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 1, 2011, 09:29 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,880

My System Specs

Default

Me and my brother both have msi gtx 460 768mb and play SCII. Mine is with x3 710 1680x1050. Everything maxed fine until the cpu bottleneck becomes a factor in 3v3 and 4v4. My brother is with i5 760 at 1920x1080 (1080p/your resolution) and never has any probems with everything maxed. In my experience SCII doesn't like AMD processors as much as intel and it is a very CPU intensive game as the units in the game goes up. That said I am still only at stock 2.6 ghz on my CPU.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PCI Express 8x for GTX 460 (768mb)? Kieli Video Cards 1 December 25, 2010 11:38 PM
GTX 460 768MB or 1GB? ipaine Video Cards 47 September 16, 2010 04:43 PM
NVIDIA GTX 460 768MB Sees Price Drop FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 21 September 13, 2010 11:03 AM
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 460 1GB & GTX 460 768MB Review Comment Thread SKYMTL Video Cards 126 August 20, 2010 10:01 AM