Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2011, 01:59 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 72

My System Specs

Default GTX 460 sli PSU?

Im going to be running two GTX 460 1GB in sli for Battlefield 3 Is a 850watt Psu enough power or should i go with the 1000watt?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2011, 02:08 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Vancouver BC, Canada
Posts: 41

My System Specs

Default

850watt is more than enough to power 460's in sli
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2011, 02:25 AM
Apathetik's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Tobin Lake, SK
Posts: 303

My System Specs

Default

lol 850 is SUCH overkill, its not even funny. ok a bit funny.

http://www.guru3d.com/article/geforc...-sli-review/15
__________________



Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2011, 02:32 AM
da_bradler
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I have 750w with the 460s over clocked to 800mhz and I have no issues, I doubt I'm much over 600w.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2011, 02:33 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 72

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by da_bradler View Post
I have 750w with the 460s over clocked to 800mhz and I have no issues, I doubt I'm much over 600w.
What did you overclock them with?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2011, 04:49 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,921

My System Specs

Default

850w is more then enough...assuming it's not a cheapy 850w. What PSU is it?
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2011, 07:30 AM
Sagath's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Petawawa, ON
Posts: 2,509

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KSiG View Post
What did you overclock them with?
Probably MSI Afterburner, with a bios mod.

Quote:
Originally Posted by da_bradler View Post
I have 750w with the 460s over clocked to 800mhz and I have no issues, I doubt I'm much over 600w.
If you're over 600w there is something terribly wrong, or you're extremely overclocked on both your CPU and GPU cores. From memory my i7 920 @ 4.2 and 2x460's @900mhz+ (bios modded) were pulling about 460-480 from the wall while folding on everything.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lpfan4ever View Post
AKG shot the hamsters, and then Perineum drove his Mustang with summer tires into the server.
My Disclaimer to any advice or comment I make;
Quote:
Originally Posted by CroSsFiRe2009 View Post
I'm a self certified whizbang repair technician with 20 years of professional bullshit so I don't know what I'm talking about
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2011, 10:32 AM
yycraven's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Martensville,SK
Posts: 937

My System Specs

Default

Corsair HX650 should be enough to run both cards, from your specs you have a 1000W PSU now so why you worrying about PSU.
__________________
ASRock Extreme 3,2500K,NH-D14,Patriot G2 16GB ,WD 750GB,640GB Sata ,2 GTX 470 SLi Thermaltake toughpower XT850W,Tech Station. V243H,2253LW LCD
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2011, 11:32 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 72

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yycraven View Post
Corsair HX650 should be enough to run both cards, from your specs you have a 1000W PSU now so why you worrying about PSU.
I have two psu
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2011, 11:41 AM
Phill's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Morden MB
Posts: 592

My System Specs

Default

FWIW my other rig has two gtx 460 in SLI with a HX620 and IMHO that is plenty. A quality 600W should and will not have any issues, Anything more than that is just gravy.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GTX 460 SLI to?? rugox Video Cards 8 April 13, 2011 05:31 PM
GTX 460 SLI Modus Video Cards 3 February 2, 2011 04:00 PM
GTX 570, GTX 460 1GB SLI or AMD alternative(s)? Zak_M Video Cards 4 December 18, 2010 05:43 AM
gtx 460 sli brando533 Video Cards 3 October 1, 2010 07:34 PM
gtx 460 1GB Sli & E6300@3GHz with ASUS P5N32-E SLI ro9ue Video Cards 0 September 19, 2010 10:30 AM