Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2011, 01:59 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 72

My System Specs

Default GTX 460 sli PSU?

Im going to be running two GTX 460 1GB in sli for Battlefield 3 Is a 850watt Psu enough power or should i go with the 1000watt?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2011, 02:08 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Vancouver BC, Canada
Posts: 44

My System Specs

Default

850watt is more than enough to power 460's in sli
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2011, 02:25 AM
Apathetik's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Saskatoon, SK
Posts: 320

My System Specs

Default

lol 850 is SUCH overkill, its not even funny. ok a bit funny.

http://www.guru3d.com/article/geforc...-sli-review/15
__________________



Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2011, 02:32 AM
da_bradler
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I have 750w with the 460s over clocked to 800mhz and I have no issues, I doubt I'm much over 600w.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2011, 02:33 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 72

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by da_bradler View Post
I have 750w with the 460s over clocked to 800mhz and I have no issues, I doubt I'm much over 600w.
What did you overclock them with?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2011, 04:49 AM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Down under
Posts: 4,334

My System Specs

Default

850w is more then enough...assuming it's not a cheapy 850w. What PSU is it?
__________________
Desktop: Arc Midi R2, Z77-D3H, 3570K 1.09v/4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance [email protected], XFX R9 280X DD, Bitfenix Fury 750w, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2011, 07:30 AM
Sagath's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 3,187

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KSiG View Post
What did you overclock them with?
Probably MSI Afterburner, with a bios mod.

Quote:
Originally Posted by da_bradler View Post
I have 750w with the 460s over clocked to 800mhz and I have no issues, I doubt I'm much over 600w.
If you're over 600w there is something terribly wrong, or you're extremely overclocked on both your CPU and GPU cores. From memory my i7 920 @ 4.2 and 2x460's @900mhz+ (bios modded) were pulling about 460-480 from the wall while folding on everything.
__________________
My Disclaimer to any advice or comment I make;
Quote:
Originally Posted by CroSsFiRe2009 View Post
I'm a self certified whizbang repair technician with 20 years of professional bullshit so I don't know what I'm talking about
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2011, 10:32 AM
yycraven's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: SK
Posts: 1,049

My System Specs

Default

Corsair HX650 should be enough to run both cards, from your specs you have a 1000W PSU now so why you worrying about PSU.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2011, 11:32 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 72

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yycraven View Post
Corsair HX650 should be enough to run both cards, from your specs you have a 1000W PSU now so why you worrying about PSU.
I have two psu
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2011, 11:41 AM
Coach's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Morden MB
Posts: 952

My System Specs

Default

FWIW my other rig has two gtx 460 in SLI with a HX620 and IMHO that is plenty. A quality 600W should and will not have any issues, Anything more than that is just gravy.
Reply With Quote