Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old July 21, 2011, 01:29 PM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,062

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Iphikratous View Post
Have you used AMD cards recently?
4 X 6850's (XFX) First set was Vanilla, second set was the Black Edition
2 X 6870's (XFX) Black Editions
2 X 6950's (XFX) Reference Editions
1 x 6970...

Plus all my support tickets too for the cards I sent back to find they were okay(even after all the trouble shooting with Support) and the emails of them telling me to go back to the drivers that came on my CD until the issues got sorted out.

I find that the issues are case by case, it depends on what game you play when the issues happen. Some people go without one problem, others have it constantly.

Arinoth here as well can testify to the joys of the 6XXX series cards.

Plus the builds I have done for clients...

I actually have pictures somewhere here of my Armor 90 with my 6950 in it...

ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old July 21, 2011, 02:00 PM
Xeven's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 483
Default

I recently tried to migrate a 3-way reference 570 1280 setup to 3-way 6970 2048 as I found the 1280 MB VRAM to be somewhat lacking at 5760x1080. The cards were impressive at first during tuning/oc, but then I started playing games and found out that the two games I'm currently playing won't run "properly" due to the drivers (big surprise o.O). I put the 6970s back in their boxes and promptly returned them. Big waste of time that was. I now run a 3-way 570 2560 setup. They're non-reference, run hot and scream like a banshee at default fan profile, but my current games work without a hitch. The theoretical potential of the hardware doesn't matter much if you can't use it properly, if at all. Experiences differ of course, but this is mine.
__________________

PSXeven. Batards of the World Unite!
The gap between happiness and utter misery is only but a few inches
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old July 21, 2011, 05:51 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Scarborough
Posts: 1,437

My System Specs

Default

See my system specs for my vote.
__________________


EBAY(http://myworld.ebay.ca/scott0639)
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old July 21, 2011, 06:12 PM
bvsbutthd101's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 389

My System Specs

Default

You may be able to overclock a 560 ti to 570 performance but you can always overclock the 570.
I say go big or go home. Buy the 570 :)
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old July 21, 2011, 07:11 PM
yycraven's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Martensville,SK
Posts: 937

My System Specs

Default

Here is a question for you, how much you willing to pay for the card or cards. whats your budget.
__________________
ASRock Extreme 3,2500K,NH-D14,Patriot G2 16GB ,WD 750GB,640GB Sata ,2 GTX 470 SLi Thermaltake toughpower XT850W,Tech Station. V243H,2253LW LCD
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old July 21, 2011, 07:40 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: NYC
Posts: 3
Default

for the pure performance, i'd probably go with the GTX480 instead since it is a bit cheaper than the GTX570 and is about 5% faster generally and offers a bit more vram... but generates about twice as much heat and guzzles down much more energy =(
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2011, 12:27 PM
bvsbutthd101's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 389

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lilb0ibastard View Post
for the pure performance, i'd probably go with the GTX480 instead since it is a bit cheaper than the GTX570 and is about 5% faster generally and offers a bit more vram... but generates about twice as much heat and guzzles down much more energy =(
K, I don't know about twice the heat. My 480 stays in the 70's while playing games. 60's depending on the game.
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2011, 12:42 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

well,it is more yes.

PowerColor HD 6870 X2 2 GB Review - Page 25/31 | techPowerUp



but if you find a good deal,like 200 buckers or lower? go for it!
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2011, 02:40 PM
bvsbutthd101's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 389

My System Specs

Default

well obviously the 570 runs cooler, but definitely not twice as hot. That's just ridiculous .
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GTX 460 vs GTX 560 lechumbl Video Cards 11 June 9, 2011 06:13 PM
MSI GTX 560-Ti/570 Twin Frozr SLI Aeshma Video Cards 10 April 26, 2011 10:30 PM
Gtx 560 Ti vs Gtx 570 Hexofire Video Cards 7 February 21, 2011 11:07 AM
GTX 570, GTX 460 1GB SLI or AMD alternative(s)? Zak_M Video Cards 4 December 18, 2010 05:43 AM
Rumor of GTX 570 and GTX 560 on its way vohiep84 Rumor Mill 15 November 20, 2010 07:43 AM