Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 16, 2011, 01:17 AM
Trial Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1
Default radeon 6950 or gtx 560ti

hi
k im looking to get a 6950 or a gtx 560ti and i want to know whats better in the "long run" when BF3 comes i will be geting othere one to crossfire or sli my budget is $240-$250.playing in 1920x1200,thx u for any help


pc spec

i5-2400
MSI P67A-G43 (B3)
G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 4GB (2 x 2GB)
Seagate Barracuda 500gb
SAMSUNG CD/DVD Burner
case NZXT GAMMA
Win7 64-bit
Antec EarthWatts EA750 750W 80 PLUS Certified
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 16, 2011, 01:18 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 48
Default

According to the msi site you have no choice to go with a 6950 if you want to run 2 cards as it doesn't support sli.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 18, 2011, 07:00 AM
Deviant's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: UWO :D or Toronto
Posts: 355

My System Specs

Default

^
Site is wrong as it simply doesn't include an SLI bridge but the board itself supports SLI as confirmed as an MSI Rep on [H]. Users have reported SLI working.

Quote:
Just finished setup of a 2500k on the p67a-g43 with 2 GTX 460's. I was still a little shy about the board as the yes/no on sli was iffy.

I can 100% confirm it supports SLI, now I just need to wait for the SLI bridge to get here. (It pop's up a window, for best performance, connect the sli bridge... also in settings it says for sli connect the bridge)
[H]ard|Forum - View Single Post - MSI P67A-G43 and SLI Support

Linus from NCIX also confirms it:
NCIX FORUMS - SLI? - MSI P67A-G45 (B3) P67 ATX LGA1155 DDR3 2...
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 18, 2011, 07:33 AM
Keltron 3030's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Mt. Pearl, Newfoundland
Posts: 621

My System Specs

Default

Get a 2GB 6950. End of story.
__________________
FFFFFFFUUUUUUUUUUUU-
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 18, 2011, 01:25 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,383

My System Specs

Default

2GB 6950 especially if you are going to add another. The 6950's scale much better in crossfire (almost keep up to sli gtx 580's at high res) than the 560ti's in sli. There is no other choice 6950 is better... even if you go 1 gig they scale better (I recommend 2 then maybe you can unlock them and run 6970's and then you will get better performance than 2 gtx 580's|)

Honestly though at that resolution I'd wait til I can afford a 6970 (or buy a used 6950 that you know unlocks) because you really only need one of them to run 1920x1200
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
VTX3D 1GB Radeon HD 6950 Osiris2k11 Video Cards 1 July 8, 2011 06:07 PM
Safe VRM Temps for Radeon 6950? Eluder Video Cards 2 June 26, 2011 01:26 PM
XFX Radeon HD 6950 XXX 1GB or MSI GTX 560 TI ? Rush Video Cards 17 March 26, 2011 07:30 PM