Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 7, 2008, 11:50 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Quebec
Posts: 10
Question EVGA step-up program, yes or no?

I did a few mistake when I purchase my computer. I needed it fast and I bought fast.

I bought the 8800gts 340 at 209$; great card for the price but this card don't match with my system. I regret to didn't pay 50$ more to acquire the 8800gt (but I thinked at the step-up program).

Is the step-up a good deal for me?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 7, 2008, 11:58 AM
ebdoradz's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Rouyn-Noranda, QC
Posts: 754
Default

Alot of canadian customer i've cross on the different board im watching have been charge for custom, brokerage fee when they used the step up program.

since the new video card you will receive i've been "bought" in the US you might have to pay those fee which sometime are quite high

before using the step up program i would check with evga if they have change thier policies regarding the step up program and then you could make a clear decision. because if you have to pay those fee, your better sellng you GTS on the forum here and buying a GT or something else with the money and pay the différence, instead of paying the difference to EVGA and paying custom/brokerage fee
__________________
Gigabyte GA-MA790XT-UD4P / AMD Phenom II x3 720BE @ x4/ Crucial Ballistic DDR3 / Sapphire 4830 512mb / Corsair 620W PSU / 2*80GB Seagate

DFI LP nF4 Ultra-D / AMD Opteron 165 @ 2.7Ghz/ 2*1GB OCZ Gold GX XTC / Sapphire X1950XT / Fortron 450W PSU / 2*Maxtor 80Gb


Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 9, 2008, 07:03 PM
Mibs's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: St. John's, NL
Posts: 311
Default

I've been readnig a bit about some of the people on the evga forums complaining about these sort of fees. Some have even said the step-up is not worth it for canadian residents. I have neverdone it myself but you could always call them and ask, they have a great customer service department.
__________________
Intel C2D E6750 @ 3.52 GHz // EVGA 680i SLI Rev. A1 (P31) // 4 GB OCZ Platinum 800 MHz 4-4-4-15 // PC P&C Silencer 750 Quad // Antec P180 // EVGA 8800 GTS 512 // Samsung Syncmaster 226bw 22" LCD

WC Loop: D-Tek Fuzion V2 // Danger Den Maze 5 // Swiftech MCP655 // Swiftech MicroRes // Thermochill PA 120.2 + 4 x Noctua NF-P12
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 9, 2008, 07:11 PM
999Virus999
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Check with EVGA. I believe this is all fixed now. I will likely be doing a stepup on both my 780i and ultra - or I may just get another ultra.

9V9
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I'm getting that itch... EVGA step-up is running out zlojack Video Cards 9 February 7, 2008 10:01 AM
EVGA Step-up Program Question Mr. Cipher Video Cards 6 October 29, 2007 04:29 PM
program Rapid-X O/S's, Drivers & General Software 8 September 3, 2007 07:13 PM
CS:S ti normal program Long John Silver Gaming 5 June 21, 2007 08:32 PM
DriverHeaven has a step-by-step guide to building a PC Supergrover Press Releases & Tech News 0 May 1, 2007 10:56 AM