Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 6, 2008, 08:38 PM
Jim's Avatar
Jim Jim is offline
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: an hour out of Calgary
Posts: 405
Default Display error

Hi, i've been having the same proplem over an over and was hoping someone could help me with it. I have an asus m2n32 sli delux motherboard, and a 38x2 64 cpu, video card is gigabyte 8600gts., with 4 gigs of ocz ram. And everytime I'm playing any game, it will sometimes freeze or blink, when I get the measege(just recoverd froma diplay error). I'm useing the latest nvidia driver, also tried using an older version. I don't know what to do. Can you help PLease?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 6, 2008, 08:50 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,577

My System Specs

Default

If it's "any game", my first guess would be overheating.

Have you tried running a vid card stress test over a period of time to see if you can duplicate the error? If you can (i.e. running for aprox. 15 minutes leads to an error) duplicate it, then try again with the case side off and a house fan blowing on the card.

If the error doesn't repeat with the fan blowing on it you can be fairly sure that it's an airflow problem inside your case.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 8, 2008, 05:13 AM
DaBruuzer's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Newmarket, Ontario
Posts: 37
Default

What is this doing in the "Sponsored Deals" forum?
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6700 @ 3.2GHz
Gigabyte GA-P35C-DS3R
OCZ Vendetta CPU Cooler
OCZ Reaper HPC 4GB (2x2GB) DDR2-800
XFX GeForece 8800GTS 512 (G92)
WD SE16 500GB SATAII / WD 250GB SATAII
LG SATA DVD-RW
Corsair HX520 Modular PSU
Antec P182 w/all fans replaced w/Noctua NF-P12-1300s
BenQ T221W 22" LCD @ 1680x1050
Logitech X-540 5.1 speakers
Vista Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 8, 2008, 05:45 AM
low351's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 200

My System Specs

Default

Wrong place for the thread.

I had the same thing happened to me. Before you try a stress test open up the box and make sure the fan on your card is working. Since It's a GTS I'm sure you can hear it but maybe you have other loud case fans. The other thing you could do is buy some Artic Silver or similar thermal past and take of the HS clean the gpu/hs and reseat it. But do that as a last resort if you don't have a warrenty anymore.

I had an older card and it was the fan that stopped working. I had to replace it with an aftermarket one.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
p5k motherboard, no display on boot synapse08 Troubleshooting 23 April 17, 2008 12:38 PM
Vista error biff Troubleshooting 3 March 2, 2008 06:46 AM
Multimedia Display.. with temp? nick_black Display Units 0 February 11, 2008 07:36 PM
Configuratoin Error? DSNB O/S's, Drivers & General Software 6 October 28, 2007 05:51 PM
Conroe turn on = no display Moneyless Troubleshooting 7 May 28, 2007 05:30 AM